Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Fish Only & FOWLR
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 12-17-2008, 09:57 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
bawel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: West LA, CA
Posts: 423
Send a message via MSN to bawel Send a message via Skype™ to bawel
Snails mating and Diatoms on PH and Filter

This afternoon when I got back from work, I saw tiny white snails creeping on the back of my tank, is that a baby snail? Were snails spawning that fast?

I got a clown fish to test if the aquarium is stable, but now I only found him swimming in the back, either with the heater or the filter, is that normal?

also, I saw my PH because brownish-diatoms like and my end of the filter that spurts water, should I clean them or let them be?

Any answer will be appreciated. Thank you
__________________

__________________
Jenny-BaweL
~Reef Tank~
28GL BF, Hydor Koralia Nano PH, AquaClear 50 with LRR, 24" Nova Extreme T5HO, 20Lbs LS and 35Lbs LR
bawel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2008, 12:09 AM   #2
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
buddha_red's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Pasadena Texas 77504
Posts: 560
Send a message via ICQ to buddha_red
Ive read that they can choose to play with the filter or heater. I clean my PH's all the time. I use the water change water to rinse them off after a good scrubbing.
__________________

__________________
Shane
"Only mistakes happen fast in aquariums"
"The solution to pollution is dulution"
buddha_red is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2008, 06:03 AM   #3
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
bawel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: West LA, CA
Posts: 423
Send a message via MSN to bawel Send a message via Skype™ to bawel
Hey Shane, thanks for input, however, I just sneaked out to check on them, while the lights are out and all of the inhabitants are more alive without the lights on. Does that mean my light was too bright, it's so weird... even my clown were swimming around and my crabs are out as well...

I quickly grab my camera and got this pic

__________________
Jenny-BaweL
~Reef Tank~
28GL BF, Hydor Koralia Nano PH, AquaClear 50 with LRR, 24" Nova Extreme T5HO, 20Lbs LS and 35Lbs LR
bawel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2008, 06:06 AM   #4
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
buddha_red's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Pasadena Texas 77504
Posts: 560
Send a message via ICQ to buddha_red
are you using just the white lights or do you use both at the same time?
__________________
Shane
"Only mistakes happen fast in aquariums"
"The solution to pollution is dulution"
buddha_red is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2008, 06:12 AM   #5
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
bawel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: West LA, CA
Posts: 423
Send a message via MSN to bawel Send a message via Skype™ to bawel
Yeah it's both, it's automatic, just like the Current USA Nova Extreme Setting, only yours is 4 bulbs and mine is 2 bulbs. Do you think I should only have 1 on Shane?
__________________
Jenny-BaweL
~Reef Tank~
28GL BF, Hydor Koralia Nano PH, AquaClear 50 with LRR, 24" Nova Extreme T5HO, 20Lbs LS and 35Lbs LR
bawel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2008, 06:16 AM   #6
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
buddha_red's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Pasadena Texas 77504
Posts: 560
Send a message via ICQ to buddha_red
that may be it, try just using the white lights and see if they like that better.
__________________
Shane
"Only mistakes happen fast in aquariums"
"The solution to pollution is dulution"
buddha_red is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2008, 06:20 AM   #7
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
buddha_red's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Pasadena Texas 77504
Posts: 560
Send a message via ICQ to buddha_red
mine has two white and two blue bulbs for a total of four bulbs. ugg the replacement costs hurt haha. My clowns seem ok with just the white light so i am sticking with that. how many switches do you have?
__________________
Shane
"Only mistakes happen fast in aquariums"
"The solution to pollution is dulution"
buddha_red is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2008, 06:25 AM   #8
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
bawel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: West LA, CA
Posts: 423
Send a message via MSN to bawel Send a message via Skype™ to bawel
I only have 1 switch, that's why if I have to turn the actinic off, I have to open up the whole thing first... you have 2 switches?
__________________
Jenny-BaweL
~Reef Tank~
28GL BF, Hydor Koralia Nano PH, AquaClear 50 with LRR, 24" Nova Extreme T5HO, 20Lbs LS and 35Lbs LR
bawel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2008, 06:28 AM   #9
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
buddha_red's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Pasadena Texas 77504
Posts: 560
Send a message via ICQ to buddha_red
ooohhh, yes i have two switches, i moved the bulbs around so one switch does white and one does blue. sorry about that, i thought we had the same light. but if you think the light is too bright you may have to disconnect the blue bulb. try doing the paper trick. hold a piece of paper over the area of one section of light. see if the clown moves to that area or acts differently in the shade.
__________________
Shane
"Only mistakes happen fast in aquariums"
"The solution to pollution is dulution"
buddha_red is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2008, 11:46 AM   #10
AA Team Emeritus
 
roka64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 13,860
Send a message via AIM to roka64 Send a message via Yahoo to roka64
Clowns swim while they sleep. Other fish will wedge between rocks. Your lighting is fine the way it is. A lot of crabs will come out at night as well. Wait a few months and you will really be surprised at all the night life that comes alive.
__________________

__________________
Age is relative, you are only as old as you act....of course, this works in reverse....

Questions loved, heeded advice greatly appreciated!

Vote for AA
Good reading about:
Nitrogen Cycle
Fishless Cycling
Need more help?
Articles
Acronym List

--Scott
roka64 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
diatom, diatoms, filter, mating, snail, snails

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Are my snails mating? jinmon Freshwater & Brackish - Breeding 9 03-28-2007 01:16 PM
agh! snails in filter SeymourFRESH Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 9 04-06-2006 08:55 PM
Snails + Diatoms Psyhampster Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 7 03-21-2005 07:02 PM
diatoms? in the filter intake tube Meredith Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 13 02-05-2005 07:47 PM
snails in filter ssherwood Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 1 09-15-2002 11:28 AM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:35 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.