Starting a 55gal SW FOWLR

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Gilberh

Aquarium Advice Newbie
Hi all,
I have just joined the site and have found tons of great information from everyone but just wanted to share my plans and have input from experts about getting this tank setup.

My husband and I have been working with freshwater fish for 10 years. At one point we had four tanks going with our largest being 55 gal. We have no down graded to our 55 gal and a 30 gal tank. We are moving our FW fish from the 55 gal to the 30 and plan on turning the 55 gal into a SW tank. My husband and I visited about 7 different FS in our area this weekend and went on a shopping spree. We were hoping to keep cost to a reasonable budget but soon realized it will take a bit of money to get it started even with the tank and stand already here. We are going to turn our 10 gallon that we have not been using into our Qt tank. My husband and I already have a canster filter for the 55 and were going to purchase a second one the same size to help foster the filtering process. We also plan on purchasing live sand and rock from one of the local FS here. I have already bought a protein skimmer that was recommend on another forum. And I am looking at purchasing 2 powerheads to help with water circulation.

Some of the questions I have are.
-Should I purchase powerheads? If so what type and how many are needed for a 55 gallon tank?

-Sand vs crushed coral. Do I need both? I was already planning on purchasing live sand for the aquarium.

Any other suggestions/tips.

Thanks All!

Welcome to AA, fellow Kentuckian!