Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Fish Only & FOWLR
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 01-23-2008, 07:39 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 7
starting a FOWLR need help w/ sump

here... this is my first saltwater tank... been in the freshwater hobby for over 10 yrs... finally decided to go with this...

I have a 210 gallon tank w/ over flow and Model 4 AGA sump... i have two mag drive pumps returning the water into the tank...

the outlets in the tank are immersed on both sides... my only problem is when i turn off the pump, the water automatically starts to siphon back into the sump thru the pumps and the sump starts to over flow on to the wooden cabinet and eventually all over the wooden floor.

so inorder to avoid that i have to put the outlets above waterline and thats making too much gushing noise. i was wondering if anyone else ever had this problem or know a way to stop this... point out to some sorta valve i can use.
__________________

__________________
johnstowner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2008, 07:57 PM   #2
SW 20 & Over Club
 
ccCapt's Avatar


 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Northeast PA
Posts: 5,362
Send a message via ICQ to ccCapt
Simple sloution. Drill a small hole about 1" below the water line on each of the return lines. When the pump shuts down, water will siphon back into the sump thru the return until it hits the drilled hole and breaks the siphon.

BTW...welcome to AA!
__________________

__________________
/Larry
125g reef
See My Tank Info
Check out The build project
ccCapt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2008, 08:13 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 7
Quote:
Originally Posted by cccapt View Post
Simple sloution. Drill a small hole about 1" below the water line on each of the return lines. When the pump shuts down, water will siphon back into the sump thru the return until it hits the drilled hole and breaks the siphon.

BTW...welcome to AA!
thanks for the advice... there is actually a small hole there already... inside the overflow, from bottom there is a long tube, and then an L bend connected to black outlets... there is a hole in the L bend... only big enough, cant go any bigger, but that still does not stop it...

water still siphons down to the sump mixed with air bubbles...
__________________
johnstowner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2008, 08:24 PM   #4
SW 20 & Over Club
 
ccCapt's Avatar


 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Northeast PA
Posts: 5,362
Send a message via ICQ to ccCapt
I think I follow you and it sounds like a typical drilled overflow/return setup. How far into the water do you have the locline (black bendable tubing)? If the locline is 1" deep and the drilled hole 1", it has to break the siphon when the water goes down 1"....unless the water is draining back into the tank from the overflow, which in that case you would have to raise it or get a bigger sump to hold more water. Is the return 3/4"? If so, you can drill the hole bigger if you can get to it.
__________________
/Larry
125g reef
See My Tank Info
Check out The build project
ccCapt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2008, 10:39 PM   #5
SW REEF 18+ YEARS
Community Admin
 
melosu58's Avatar



Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Virginia
Posts: 38,249
I agree drill a bigger hole. I had the same problem and took care of it by doing what CCCAPT said.
__________________

SITE ADMINISTRATOR

You can view many of my fish and corals in my photo albums in my profile.

View my tank


AA Community Rules|AA TOS

Forums 101 - posting, accounts, basics
melosu58 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2008, 10:26 AM   #6
Aquarium Advice Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 7
the locline is fully submerged... the overflow is completely raised... what i did do was, i made another smaller hole to the side... that stoped the water from gushing back...

need a clarification... whats the real use of sump... for biological filter only or bio and mechanical filter as well...

even though there is over 1000 GPH circulation, there is still debris in the water running around and not getting filtered... should i use a canister filter as well!
__________________
johnstowner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2008, 10:33 AM   #7
AA Team Emeritus
 
austinsdad's Avatar


 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Accokeek, Maryland
Posts: 7,694
Are you using a skimmer? That'll be your mechanical filtration. Sump is not going to clean your water. But it can house media for which additional beneficial bacteria can live on, hence the biological filtration. Rock or rock rubble etc. It also is a good place to put your heater, and run your UV if you use one. Put media bags there too (phosphate reducer, etc).
__________________
-Ray-

"Life may not be the party we hoped for but while we are here we might as well dance!"

austinsdad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2008, 11:01 AM   #8
AA Team Emeritus
 
cmor1701d's Avatar


 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Belle Mead, NJ
Posts: 7,814
How much debris is in the water column?
There is always going to be some particles floating around. There shouldn't be enough to cloudy the water.
cmor1701d is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2008, 01:28 PM   #9
Aquarium Advice Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 7
not much debris to make the water cloudy... just tiny particles... its just that my freshwater tanks are crystal clear and i am used to it that way...

currenlty i only have salt water and some cured rocks from the LFS in there... i am starting slowly... havent purchased all the equipments yet... just got the lights last week... for this weeks purchase, i have to start working on it saturday.

i have a ocean clear micro filter lying around some where... maybe i can use that to remove the tiny particles.

currently in the sump, i have bio balls, some rocks, heater... what else do i need.
__________________
johnstowner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2008, 03:15 PM   #10
AA Team Emeritus
 
cmor1701d's Avatar


 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Belle Mead, NJ
Posts: 7,814
If you are just starting to cycle your tank don't worry about the particles. Let the tank go through the normal stages and mature.
__________________

cmor1701d is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
fowlr, starting, sump

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Help with starting my first FOWLR setup... Justin_Toronto Saltwater Fish Only & FOWLR 34 01-27-2009 08:12 PM
Starting a FOWLR... what do i need? chris127 Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 37 11-01-2008 08:31 PM
starting a 20g FOWLR kaboke General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 5 05-07-2007 02:49 PM
Need help starting my saltwater FOWLR tank poriceboy Saltwater Fish Only & FOWLR 8 08-19-2004 09:35 AM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:42 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.