Starting a new aquarium (Noob here)

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

XxkylexX

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
I am extremely interested in starting a saltwater aquarium, but am new to the game.

I am wondering if anyone on this forum knows any really nice/affordable setups for beginners like myself? I've not even purchased an aquarium yet, and am looking to get a 75-100 gallon tank (maybe more for the right price).

Having some issues tryin to find the tank for me online, and I know pet stores really jack prices up on tanks.

To start, what type of livestock do you want? You need to think about the fish you want, check out live aquaria.com to see tank requirements and go from there. Your statement about lfs's jacking up prices isn't entirely correct. I went to a mom and pop lfs (not a chain) and purchased my entire setup for about half the cost I was finding online.

Once you decide what you want (reef, FO, FOWLR) there are plenty of knowledgable people here that would be happy to help you out.

Good luck and welcome to the forum (and hobby).

Hi Sean, and thanks!

I am interested in a FOWLR setup for sure. As for livestock, I am interested in Blue Torpedo Sharks, but they seem too aggressive and that really limits what can share the aquarium with them.

With that said, my son loves Nemo, and I could see myself starting out an aquarium maybe with sea anemone and a clown fish or two and maybe just stock the aquarium with fish that are compatible.

I read also that having a cleaning crew for your aquarium is ideal. So maybe a crab, shrimp, snail and things like that.

With that information, how big, gallon wise, would be a good setup for either environment be?

Blue torpedo sharks are FW. If you want a FOWLR, look into a 125g. You can get the larger, prettier fish.