Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Fish Only & FOWLR
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 07-20-2007, 02:09 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 158
Sump?

Can someone please explain the purpose and the benefits to having a sump? Also, is it worth it for a 55 gal?
__________________

__________________
saywill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2007, 02:12 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Miami, FL
Posts: 343
Send a message via AIM to artoledo Send a message via MSN to artoledo Send a message via Yahoo to artoledo
http://www.aquariumadvice.com/articl...q=2&fldAuto=12
__________________

__________________
If it doesn't work, use a Hammer.

-----Armando-----
artoledo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2007, 02:24 PM   #3
AA Team Emeritus
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 3,462
A sump adds aeration and water volume to the system as a whole, which can help stabilize water parameters than a smaller and less forgiving system. They also allow you to set up any chemical/mechanical filtration, hardware separate from the main display (cleaner appeal), and even partition a refugium. You do not have to utilize a sump; however, for the simplicity and positive viewpoints I don't see why not? Of course, this would also require you to drill the tank (safest route) unless it is already "reef-ready." In a 55g I would go with a 20g-30g.
Innovator is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2007, 05:13 PM   #4
SW REEF 18+ YEARS
Community Admin
 
melosu58's Avatar



Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Virginia
Posts: 38,242
I agree with James. Aeration and extra water volume are great things.
__________________

SITE ADMINISTRATOR

You can view many of my fish and corals in my photo albums in my profile.

View my tank


AA Community Rules|AA TOS

Forums 101 - posting, accounts, basics
melosu58 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2007, 06:17 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 158
My tank is not pre drilled, is that a real problem? The reason I am considering it, I got my hands on a nice 20 gal that will fit well under my 55.
What should I put in the sump? Live rock, sand?
__________________
saywill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2007, 07:10 PM   #6
AA Team Emeritus
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 3,462
There are h.o.b. overflows, but I simply do not trust them. There are many threads on reefcentral in the diy forum in regards to drilling tanks. You can do it yourself or have someone do it for you. Either way, do read up on drilling glass tanks Most sumps will contain heaters, skimmer, and chemical filtration such as carbon, phosbans, purigen, etc. They can also be converted into refugiums where liverock and macroalgaes can be housed/grown. Here's some articles that may be of interest:

http://reefkeeping.com/issues/2003-01/gt/index.php
http://reefkeeping.com/issues/2003-04/gt/index.php
http://reefkeeping.com/issues/2003-07/gt/index.php
Innovator is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2007, 09:27 AM   #7
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 158
Thanks for the advice. After reading the links you provided, I am not sure that I am going to go forward with the sump. I am really nervous about the possibilty of a flood.
__________________
saywill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2007, 09:09 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: NJ
Posts: 662
Anything is possible, but if the tank is drilled and the sump is setup correctly a flood is less likely to occur.
__________________
C/
chase33 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2007, 10:06 PM   #9
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
ezy33's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: San Francisco's Barbary Coast
Posts: 2,545
Send a message via ICQ to ezy33
I have a DIY sump (20 GAL) on my 30 GAL glass, mainly for a refugium (5 GAL) to produce PODs for my Mandrins. After making my own overflow I would recommend you use a premanufactured overflow to prevent any flooding. The sump houses the heater, filter, and skimmer. With the sump and refugium add 10 GAL to the system and hides all but the power heads, overflow and the return. When I bought my first reef (55 GAL) it came with a sump. IMO For a FOWLR it's not a necessity if you have plenty of live rock.
__________________

__________________
Not one shred of evidence supports the notion that life is serious.
ezy33 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
sump

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
lost my tank, but back at it now! sump or no sump lower11 Saltwater Reef Aquaria 9 07-10-2007 03:35 PM
Pro Clear Sump - How to put heater in sump & Questions.. TheChad Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 6 04-14-2006 07:39 PM
adding another sump onto my original sump bingbat General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 0 01-15-2005 01:00 AM
Whats a sump, A simple sump Mr.Maska Saltwater Reef Aquaria 4 12-19-2004 06:51 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:06 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.