Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Fish Only & FOWLR
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 06-15-2013, 06:02 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 20
sump and upgrading

Hello! upgrading from a 46 gallon to a 75 gallon and will be setting up a 29 gallon sump as well. My question is should I cycle my sump for a while before I make the switch ? I was just going to transfer everything over to the new tank and it'd be like doing a 45% water change but because I have the sump will it mess everything up?

Also, what is the best media to put in the sump? Thanks!!!
__________________

__________________
lyriksmommy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2013, 10:44 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
TangoTank's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 519
Quote:
Originally Posted by lyriksmommy View Post
Hello! upgrading from a 46 gallon to a 75 gallon and will be setting up a 29 gallon sump as well. My question is should I cycle my sump for a while before I make the switch ? I was just going to transfer everything over to the new tank and it'd be like doing a 45% water change but because I have the sump will it mess everything up?

Also, what is the best media to put in the sump? Thanks!!!
So you're going from a 46 gal WITHOUT a sump to a 75 gal w/ a sump?? Do you have live rock appropriate for the 46 gal but will add base rock to bring it up to 75 gal appropriate amount of rock? Then I think you'd be fine to place all that in the new tank & move your stock immediately, no? It should be an appropriately cycled tank, just test daily to make sure everything adjusted well. Will you be using fresh sand/substrate?

So far, I like filter sock media & just live rock in the sump in my 75 gal but I haven't had it long. It used to have bio balls & it is doing so much better on live rock & the filter sock. I plan to add light & Chaeto for extra NitrAte removal. Good luck!! HTH!
__________________

__________________
Check out my photography:
http://www.aquariumadvice.com/forums...ml#post2548090
TangoTank is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2013, 02:07 AM   #3
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: new york
Posts: 282
use prime to destress the fish and make sure parameters are correct but you are fine to just add the fish if all those things check out also i use chemi-pure elite as my filter media i also use deep blue nitrate remover pads they are amazing hope this helps and good luck
__________________
90 gallon (fowler)
75 gallon (community)
55 gallon (fowlr)
10 gallon (quarantine)
chiclidlover81 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
sump, upgrading

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off








» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:11 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.