Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Fish Only & FOWLR
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 09-25-2010, 09:18 PM   #11
member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 2,667
A 30 long (36" long and 12" wide) would fit nicely under there, still leaving a little room for an ATO reservoir and supplies.

Bigger is always, as stated, but anything is better than nothing. My 45 only has a 10 gallon sump becuase that is the biggest I could fit in the stand.
__________________

__________________
Fishguy2727 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2010, 11:26 AM   #12
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Smitty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Gainesville, FL
Posts: 1,206
Quick question... for a sump are you looking for lenght over height or does it matter? Like a 20 tall instead of a 20 long?

I'm wondering because many people may have room to go higher but not longer. Then again, I've only done FW and never had a sump.
__________________

__________________
Smitty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2010, 09:25 PM   #13
member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 2,667
Go as big as you can in all directions, but be aware that there are height restrictions. Being able to maintain your sump properly (including getting your arm, skimmer, and pumps in and out) is vital. I can tell you from experience it is no fun to work with a sump that someone did not take this into account when they constructed it.
__________________
Fishguy2727 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2010, 09:44 PM   #14
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
rncarter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Springfield, MA
Posts: 275
would a 20L gallon do the job of being a good sump/fuge for a 90 gallon DT?
__________________
rncarter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2010, 09:59 PM   #15
member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 2,667
I would do a 30 long (36x12 footprint).
__________________
Fishguy2727 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2010, 11:18 PM   #16
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
thincat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 5,330
Quote:
Originally Posted by cmor1701d View Post
Are you willing to move your office?
Good one Cmor!!!!! sorry.....lol
__________________
Happy Reefing,
TC
thincat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2010, 01:19 PM   #17
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
rncarter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Springfield, MA
Posts: 275
Not sure I want to move the office. If I put this sump in the basement, I will have to put holes in the floor for the supply and retun hose. In addition, I am retricting myself to only using that one spot on the 1st floor for a DT. I would prefer to have the sump under the DT.
__________________

__________________
rncarter is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
sump, sump size

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Sump Size? CoraltheClownfish DIY Projects 7 08-29-2010 11:14 PM
sump size? pump size? Silent Night General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 19 07-20-2010 01:40 PM
What size Sump do I need eatsomepopcorn General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 9 02-03-2010 10:22 PM
size of sump fast94tracer Saltwater Reef Aquaria 6 08-22-2007 08:14 PM
What size sump to use? sedonawrx Saltwater Reef Aquaria 7 01-12-2006 01:45 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:17 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.