Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Fish Only & FOWLR
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 09-23-2010, 10:32 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
rncarter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Springfield, MA
Posts: 275
sump size

what would be a good/appropriate size for a 90 gallon FOWLR tank?
__________________

__________________
rncarter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2010, 12:09 AM   #2
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Rancho Cucamonga, California
Posts: 819
The bigger the better... whatever will fit under your cabinet. I would go for a 40gal breeder tank. That would give you plenty of room for a skimmer, room for LR rubble, and a return section for a pump. A 20 Long would be ok too... but far less flexible for future upgrades. I say use the 90 for a sump and get a 200 gal DT

This link will show you standard tank sizes... measure your cabinet and get the biggest tank that will fit in it. This link is to melevsreef.com and should give you ideas on how to diy your own sump.
__________________

__________________
~~Rob
RLG2182 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2010, 07:07 AM   #3
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
mr_X's Avatar


 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Fairless Hills, Pa.
Posts: 17,895
Send a message via MSN to mr_X
the problem is that you can't fit a 40 breeder in the stand of a 90. the 20 long might work.
any way you can plumb the sump in from somewhere outside the stand, like a near by closet perhaps?
__________________
thanks,
Doug
mr_X is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2010, 09:32 AM   #4
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
rncarter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Springfield, MA
Posts: 275
Quote:
Originally Posted by RLG2182 View Post
but far less flexible for future upgrades. I say use the 90 for a sump and get a 200 gal DT


The DT is already up an running with an eheim canister filter.
__________________
rncarter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2010, 09:35 AM   #5
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
rncarter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Springfield, MA
Posts: 275
Quote:
Originally Posted by mr_X View Post
the problem is that you can't fit a 40 breeder in the stand of a 90. the 20 long might work.
any way you can plumb the sump in from somewhere outside the stand, like a near by closet perhaps?
The max size that can fit in my current cabinet is a 30 gal. The only other alternative is to put the sump in the basement. But my office is directly under the room where the DT currently is.
__________________
rncarter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2010, 10:46 AM   #6
AA Team Emeritus
 
cmor1701d's Avatar


 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Belle Mead, NJ
Posts: 7,814
Are you willing to move your office?
cmor1701d is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2010, 10:50 AM   #7
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
rncarter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Springfield, MA
Posts: 275
If i put the sump in the basement I will have to get more expensive and powerful equipment to transfer water to/from DT on the 1st floor.
__________________
rncarter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2010, 03:24 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Oxford,England
Posts: 1,384
No where on ground floor?,you could setup your sump up in your basement at high level to keep the head as short as poss,maybe about 15-17 feet?.Whatever way if your install under your DT make sure the sump isn't too high to give you problems fitting and removing equipment from it.
__________________
Old Chinese proverb:
Don't go to bed with ichy bum
wake up with smelly finger!!
David S is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2010, 06:34 PM   #9
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
mr_X's Avatar


 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Fairless Hills, Pa.
Posts: 17,895
Send a message via MSN to mr_X
i once suspended a 30 gallon tank from the ceiling, just as they suspend industrial A/C units and such. i hung it from the rafters. it was quite easy. maybe that might work for you?
__________________
thanks,
Doug
mr_X is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2010, 06:40 PM   #10
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
mr_X's Avatar


 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Fairless Hills, Pa.
Posts: 17,895
Send a message via MSN to mr_X


this was a 30 long, and then i went with a 30b...
__________________

__________________
thanks,
Doug
mr_X is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
sump, sump size

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Sump Size? CoraltheClownfish DIY Projects 7 08-29-2010 11:14 PM
sump size? pump size? Silent Night General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 19 07-20-2010 01:40 PM
What size Sump do I need eatsomepopcorn General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 9 02-03-2010 10:22 PM
size of sump fast94tracer Saltwater Reef Aquaria 6 08-22-2007 08:14 PM
What size sump to use? sedonawrx Saltwater Reef Aquaria 7 01-12-2006 01:45 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:56 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.