Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Fish Only & FOWLR

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
Old 07-15-2006, 06:52 PM   #1
Posts: n/a
Tank change and substrate questions

I have a fish-only tank with perculas and a pseudochromis. I want to replace it with a moderately larger tank. The substrate in the tank is CaribSea flamingo aragonite reef sand. The tank has a lot of mostly green algae, both hair and bubble type.

Normally, I would move some of the substrate to the new tank for the biological benefit. I was wondering whether that means I will be causing an algae problem in the new tank. Otherwise, the new tank is a lot less likely to have algae problems because the entire setup will be better.

My other question is whether there is a shelf life to unused aragonite reef sand. I have some left from when I set up the tank, about two years ago. Can I use it, or would I be better off using something else anyway, like crushed coral?

  Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2006, 09:16 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Freak
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Vienna, West Virginia
Posts: 219
I would not migrate your current algae problem to a new tank. If the sand is not the water packed type it should last a very long time. Definately stay with sand. Lots and lots of people switch from cc to sand but I've never heard of switching from sand to cc. And with sand there are some very cool fish and stars that you can't get with cc.
jmo hth

ckmn101 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2006, 09:55 PM   #3
Community Admin
melosu58's Avatar

Tank of the Month Award
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Virginia
Posts: 37,891
Dont add the sand from your old tank to your new tank as you will carry algea spores over which will do the same thing. Get new sand
melosu58 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2006, 12:47 AM   #4
Posts: n/a
Thanks. Should I also not use the powerhead and heater from old tank, which likewise have lots of algae? I might need to get a higher watt heater anyway, so not a big deal.
  Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2006, 09:08 PM   #5
Community Admin
melosu58's Avatar

Tank of the Month Award
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Virginia
Posts: 37,891
Clean the power head and heater off. They will be OK. Scrub them good.
melosu58 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2006, 09:43 AM   #6
AA Team Emeritus
roka64's Avatar
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 13,860
Send a message via AIM to roka64 Send a message via Yahoo to roka64
All is sound advice. Substrate is a matter of opinion. I started mine with CC and some sand, IME, it got dirty fast and looked kind of ugly. I, then, had the fun job of trying to sift out the sand, after moving the LR and probably stressing my fish. If I did it again, I would go with sand. Don't just take my advice, I am sure there are others that love the look of CC and propbably can give you pointers.

As for your algae problems. You may want to work on gettting that in check. If not, you will have the same issues in your new tank (congrats on the upgrade).
Age is relative, you are only as old as you act....of course, this works in reverse....

Questions loved, heeded advice greatly appreciated!

Vote for AA
Good reading about:
Nitrogen Cycle
Fishless Cycling
Need more help?
Acronym List

roka64 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2006, 09:53 PM   #7
Posts: n/a
Thanks. I will go with all new substrate, but try to keep as much water from old to new as possible.
I think the new will have better filtration and lighting, so hoping no algae problems.
  Reply With Quote

change, substrate, tan

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
I want to change my substrate. mdaniel2882 Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 3 10-08-2009 08:40 AM
Substrate change after filter change Floyd R Turbo Freshwater & Brackish - Planted Tanks 6 03-18-2009 12:02 AM
Water Change in Planted Tank Questions theotheragentm Freshwater & Brackish - Planted Tanks 2 07-10-2007 01:18 PM
Substrate Questions For A New Tank AquariumFreak Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 7 03-21-2004 01:49 PM
First water change in new empty tank -- questions leafyseadragon Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 2 10-08-2003 11:43 PM

» Photo Contest Winners

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2012 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:24 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.