Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Fish Only & FOWLR
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 11-22-2010, 03:25 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
kingman8610's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: North Richland Hills, Tx
Posts: 215
Tank is changing need help!!

Ok so I took my second water test and I got Nitrate:160, Nitrite:1, Alk.:180, PH:8.0-- so I did about a 50% water change and cleaned almost all the algae off the glass, my temp stays btwn 78-81 or 82 degrees, and I've noticed even before the test that my Starfish were disappearing! I cant find many of them and I think they are dying off, My Nessarius snail died 1-2 days ago and I can't find any of my other snails, and the whole tank looks like its got a kind of mist in it. Can someone please tell me whats going on here??? is my LR gonna die too?

The only things (visibly) living are the hermits...

Thanks for any and all comments/advice/suggestions

-Brett
__________________

__________________
kingman8610 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2010, 03:46 PM   #2
Sliced Bread
 
neilanh's Avatar


 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 8,482
I'd guess it's because your nitrite is elevated above 0, as well as if that's a real reading on your nitrAte, that's extremely high.

You need to keep ammonia and nitrIte at 0.0 at all times, and your nitrAtes below 20.
__________________

__________________
~Neilan
In the DC Metro Area? Check out GWAPA and WAMAS
neilanh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2010, 03:49 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
kingman8610's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: North Richland Hills, Tx
Posts: 215
Im doing it off of test strips, its all I can afford right now, and it doesnt test for ammonia, and on the packaging it basically says its for fresh water, is there a diff. in chemical lvls btwn FW and SW? B/c I thought the only diff. was that for SW you had to keep a closer eye on things. So do the lvls differ.???
__________________
kingman8610 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2010, 03:52 PM   #4
Sliced Bread
 
neilanh's Avatar


 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 8,482
They do differ, you need to get a SW test kit. I highly recommend the API master test kits. They're a little bit pricey, but not horrible, and the chemical test kits are much more accurate than test strips. If it's still too much money, then get a SW ammonia, nitrIte and nitrAte test kit at a minimum.

Another thing you can do is take a water sample to your LFS. Most LFSs will test your water for you for free.
__________________
~Neilan
In the DC Metro Area? Check out GWAPA and WAMAS
neilanh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2010, 03:56 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
kingman8610's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: North Richland Hills, Tx
Posts: 215
Yeah ok cool um, can I get these at petsmart or petco? And also is an API master test kit re-usable? or is it strips... also, do I need a refractometer? and does a refractometer test all these things?
__________________
kingman8610 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2010, 03:59 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
kingman8610's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: North Richland Hills, Tx
Posts: 215
Also, is there anything else wrong besides the chemicals? if you need to you can look at my pics on my prof. maybe that will help, of course it doesnt look EXACTLY like that now, missing just about all life lol
__________________
kingman8610 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2010, 04:56 PM   #7
Sliced Bread
 
neilanh's Avatar


 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 8,482
Yes, petsmart/petco will carry these. They run about $25 IIRC. If you don't have a refractometer or a hygrometer, you'll need one of those as well. They measure the salinity of the water (salt content). I assumed you had one already. How else do you know how much salt to add in the water?
__________________
~Neilan
In the DC Metro Area? Check out GWAPA and WAMAS
neilanh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2010, 04:30 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: not here anymore
Posts: 5,338
Quote:
Originally Posted by kingman8610 View Post
...My Nessarius snail died 1-2 days ago and I can't find any of my other snails, and the whole tank looks like its got a kind of mist in it. Can someone please tell me whats going on here??? is my LR gonna die too?...
From the numbers you posted a week ago, I mentioned it looked like your tank was cycling then. With your nitrites now even higher, sure sounds like a cycle to me. Ammonia levels would confirm that. Hazy water implies a bacterial bloom, which also will occur during a cycle.

So I'm curious how you feed the hermits. I mean... the bioload for this tank is nearly non-existent since it only contains crabs. So it's not like the ammonia is coming from your crabs - it must be coming from the uneaten food you're supplying them. Not being familiar with keeping just crabs without fish, I'm not sure how you go about feeding them. Just a guess, but I'd say the cycle is coming from an overabundance of food that is just lying around, fouling up your tank.
__________________
Kurt_Nelson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2010, 05:45 PM   #9
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
kingman8610's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: North Richland Hills, Tx
Posts: 215
Quote:
Originally Posted by neilanh View Post
Yes, petsmart/petco will carry these. They run about $25 IIRC. If you don't have a refractometer or a hygrometer, you'll need one of those as well. They measure the salinity of the water (salt content). I assumed you had one already. How else do you know how much salt to add in the water?
To be honest? I look at the salt deposit left after evaporation lol and I just use visual common sense IE I look at the activity of my hermits

No all I have is the test strips I said about, the SG I just use visual confirmation: it actually works well seeing how I've had it tested for it and it was fine
__________________
kingman8610 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2010, 05:51 PM   #10
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
kingman8610's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: North Richland Hills, Tx
Posts: 215
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kurt_Nelson View Post
From the numbers you posted a week ago, I mentioned it looked like your tank was cycling then. With your nitrites now even higher, sure sounds like a cycle to me. Ammonia levels would confirm that. Hazy water implies a bacterial bloom, which also will occur during a cycle.

So I'm curious how you feed the hermits. I mean... the bioload for this tank is nearly non-existent since it only contains crabs. So it's not like the ammonia is coming from your crabs - it must be coming from the uneaten food you're supplying them. Not being familiar with keeping just crabs without fish, I'm not sure how you go about feeding them. Just a guess, but I'd say the cycle is coming from an overabundance of food that is just lying around, fouling up your tank.
Ok, kurt, I feed the hermits with either water-logged krill or onewhole headless jumbo shrimp. then I also HAD 75-100 Astrea Starfish and 3-4 unID Starfish plus the other snail and several (I'm guessing)--Astrea Snaills, and 1 Nessarius snail, plus w/e is in the LR, is that not enough bio-load for a 10g tank?? I am still trying to figure Sh*t out srry I'm so upset about losing things... (sigh) ok so What creates/makes a cycle occur? I've hda this tank for abot 3-5 months.. iwhy would it cycle again???
__________________

__________________
kingman8610 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
changing, tan

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Changing to new tank. ducati2242 Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 9 06-09-2010 07:09 AM
Changing Substrate in tank - How? New Cycle? David14259 Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 4 02-08-2007 08:30 AM
Changing main tank to refugium l'eau IQ General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 1 11-10-2005 08:10 PM
changing water without changing temperature hashbaz Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 5 10-31-2004 10:51 PM
Changing to Cichlid tank Xabien Cichlid Discussion 9 01-27-2004 08:46 AM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:37 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.