Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Fish Only & FOWLR
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 06-01-2011, 11:20 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 88
Tank issue. Loosing fish

I have a large tank with sufficient filtration. Fluval FX5 on my big tank. Skimmer is a reef octopus bh300 and I have an extra power filter running for security on my large fowler tank. It has become cloudy from sand bei g dug up by triggers and all of a sudden all my fish and my eel are breathing heavy and not swimming. I turned off the light to Try n Destress them and once I came home an hour later. My harlequin tusk was dead. And I am afraid of plowing the rest of my fish. I ran out of test I was going tomorrow to get a new kit. Added my buffer today. Salinity is 1.022. Could waste have been dug up in the substrate? And caused ammonia spike? Or nitrate ot nitrite spikes? Please help.
__________________

__________________
T.J. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2011, 11:36 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
the_fish_man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Colorado
Posts: 988
oh that sucks to lose that fish its a pricey one. Did the fish have any scars on it when you found it dead?
__________________

__________________
The_Fish_Man otherwise known as Scooby
"Each tank is a different world....... Bored of yours go into your fishes":p
the_fish_man is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2011, 11:49 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 88
No scars. No spots. Never even scratched the rock. Just all of a sudden the tank got cloudy from the substrate being dug up and bam he was dead in an hour.
__________________
T.J. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2011, 11:51 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
the_fish_man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Colorado
Posts: 988
This might sound like a funny question but it could help a lot. How deep is your sand bed?
__________________
The_Fish_Man otherwise known as Scooby
"Each tank is a different world....... Bored of yours go into your fishes":p
the_fish_man is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2011, 11:52 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 88
About 2 max 3 inches. No question is silly in this hobby lol.
__________________
T.J. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2011, 12:06 AM   #6
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
the_fish_man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Colorado
Posts: 988
hmmm try to get your parameters as quick as possible
__________________
The_Fish_Man otherwise known as Scooby
"Each tank is a different world....... Bored of yours go into your fishes":p
the_fish_man is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2011, 12:07 AM   #7
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
the_fish_man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Colorado
Posts: 988
Oh also how much are you feeding?
__________________
The_Fish_Man otherwise known as Scooby
"Each tank is a different world....... Bored of yours go into your fishes":p
the_fish_man is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2011, 12:14 AM   #8
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 88
No more then they can eat in 2 minuets only Monday Wednesday and Friday. Except the eel he eats two pieces of dried krill same days. Never had an issue before. And I am going to get a test kit tomorrow. I just ran out today testing my wife's tank this morning. Fish store closed today for the owners birthday. So I have to wait. But I will have them asap. But I was supposed to add my " evey other week maintenance" dose of special blend. I love that product. Used it in my freshwater stuff. Use it in my wife's tank. It is wonderful. Once the substrate was dug up it would have killed anything in it and probably saved my fish.
__________________
T.J. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2011, 07:27 PM   #9
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
jsmith's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Erie, PA
Posts: 1,102
Stiring up the subtrate could give u a good spike in nitrates depending on all long its been in you tank or if u vacuum any of it out and do suddle replinshment
__________________
jsmith is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2011, 11:22 PM   #10
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 88
It was a nitrite spike. Was my fault. I should have listened better. Let my wife take care of the tank while I was gone and she changed the water every week and it was just to much.
__________________

__________________
T.J. is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
tan

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
can i do this,without loosing fish?????????? bigford84 Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 2 10-06-2010 01:59 AM
Help I'm loosing fish irishfishlady Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 8 10-10-2009 02:53 PM
New tank/Fish issue... Dav3y Freshwater & Brackish - Unhealthy Fish 3 06-20-2008 01:28 AM
Finally added fish to the new tank, now a have a new issue fishyG Saltwater & Reef - Sick Fish or Coral 2 01-18-2005 10:23 AM
fish loosing their eyes Zshainya Freshwater & Brackish - Unhealthy Fish 10 01-06-2004 10:10 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:12 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.