Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Fish Only & FOWLR
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 05-23-2015, 12:22 AM   #11
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 21
Well we've been using poor quality water and the rock is covered with green algae, no coralline ever started to cover it. Should I be worried about bringing contaminats in?
__________________

__________________
kidsoccer78 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2015, 10:21 AM   #12
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
okapizebra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Florida
Posts: 1,033
Hmm, I'm honestly not sure. Obviously putting the rock with algae on it will bring the algae with it. But perhaps if your parameters are cleaner than the last tank you could get rid of it? Maybe try scrubbing it off gently before transferring?

Is there any way you could trade your live rock for other live rock? I think that would be your best plan. You wouldn't have to worry about transferring anything and you should avoid an all out cycle. Because IMO letting the tank run for one week with biospira won't be enough to call it cycled.
__________________

__________________
okapizebra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2015, 11:50 PM   #13
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 21
I could take the large piece (8lbs) and put it in the new tank and trade in the other (12lbs) for some new rock? How long would I have to wait to add fish?

Also I will try using a kitchen scrubbing thing to remove as much algae as possible and use limited light at first?

Another problem with the current tank is it sits in direct sunlight...
__________________
kidsoccer78 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2015, 01:08 AM   #14
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
okapizebra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Florida
Posts: 1,033
That could work. Try adding a raw shrimp to the tank, and once the BB is able to convert ammonia to nitrite and then nitrate you should be good. Kind of like doing a quick cycle, but since you'll already have BB, it should be rather quick.
__________________
okapizebra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2015, 08:55 PM   #15
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 21
What do I add? A shrimp from LFS or like a real for eating shrimp
__________________
kidsoccer78 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2015, 09:35 PM   #16
Giant Clam Addict
Community Admin
 
Sniperhank's Avatar



POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Summerville, Pennsylvania
Posts: 18,543
One you would eat.
Sniperhank is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2015, 08:41 AM   #17
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 21
Ok. Thanks for your help. Today I will add 20 lbs of sand, 8 lbs of live rock, and 9ish gallons of instant ocean saltwater and let the tank run for a few days. When do I add the shrimp?
__________________
kidsoccer78 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2015, 05:08 PM   #18
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
okapizebra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Florida
Posts: 1,033
As soon as everything is set up.
__________________
okapizebra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2015, 11:50 PM   #19
Macro Addict
Community Moderator
 
54seaweed's Avatar



POTM Champion
Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Colorado
Posts: 7,529
Quote:
Originally Posted by kidsoccer78 View Post
Well we've been using poor quality water and the rock is covered with green algae, no coralline ever started to cover it. Should I be worried about bringing contaminats in?
that green algae will die off fast since your adding it to a new tank that has no phosphates in it , that die off along with the shrimp may take a week or 2 longer to cycle but it will be all good when its done
__________________
Save
54seaweed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2015, 01:39 PM   #20
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 21
I haven't had a chance to add the shrimp yet but the tank is running (bacteria growing).

The tank is in a dark location and the light is off the prevent any algae growth
__________________

__________________
kidsoccer78 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
tan, tank, transfer

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Tank Transfer for fish and live rock only tank Benjithecookiemonster Saltwater Fish Only & FOWLR 9 06-16-2009 12:29 PM
tank transfer 29g - 75g steve r Saltwater Reef Aquaria 2 08-15-2005 06:17 PM
Tank transfer - success with mystery??? Mazdaman Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 1 03-13-2005 03:49 PM
Upgrading tank - transfer equipment, keep fish alive... SwerveDriver Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 2 08-05-2004 08:29 PM
How do I transfer fish from a low pH to normal pH tank? Muppeholic Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 5 07-06-2004 12:32 AM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:49 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.