Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Fish Only & FOWLR
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 06-09-2009, 03:51 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Clear Lake , Texas
Posts: 21
Send a message via Yahoo to Benjithecookiemonster
Tank Transfer for fish and live rock only tank

I am in the process of stablizing my new 94 gallon bow tank. I have the sump/refuge all set up as well as good flow throughout the tank. I also have the heater, phosban reactor and protein skimmer running like a champ. Also, all of the T-5 lights are running and timed perfectly in both tanks.

My main tank is a 55 gallon with full sump set-up. I have live rock with pretty purples and reds that have developed into a nice scene, panther grouper, some starfish, black urchin, anenome, and some crabs

I have placed about half of my live rock from the 55 gallon over to the 94 gallon tank to start the cycle in there.


My question:

Is it okay for me to take perfectly good water from my 55 gallon tank and siphon that into my newer 94 gallon tank to speed up the process of transfering my feesh? Figuring that it will help aclimate the feesh a little easier...

Someone let me know their thoughts. Keep in mind, my 55 gallon filled tank is perfect.. tested and approved Water and all...
__________________

__________________
Benjithecookiemonster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2009, 05:36 PM   #2
Thanx but no.....


 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 2,333
I wouldn't bother using the old tank water. Start off with fresh RO/DI. The vast majority of your bacteria are in the rock and substrate anyway. Just be sure to try and match the water conditions as close as possible.

On the other hand, if the tank was clean and your ok with the parameters (nitrate, silica, phosphates, ca, etc) then I also wouldn't see a big deal is moving some of it over.

Leave the sand though

How's that for the definitive maybe.

Me, I'd start fresh...


most probably...
__________________

__________________
CaptainAhab is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2009, 05:56 PM   #3
SW REEF 18+ YEARS
Community Admin
 
melosu58's Avatar



Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Virginia
Posts: 38,249
You might not see much of a cycle if you transfer you LR from the 55 over to the bigger tank. That rock is cured already. When I went from my 55 to my 125 I brought over about 3/4 of the water but if you are doing it for the nitrifying bacteria the captain was right. You wont be bringing any over with the water. Just your LR will bring the bacteria over. I`d get new sand if it was me. Most times the old sand is so nasty even after cleaning that you will experience a spike in ammonia. JMO
__________________

SITE ADMINISTRATOR

You can view many of my fish and corals in my photo albums in my profile.

View my tank


AA Community Rules|AA TOS

Forums 101 - posting, accounts, basics
melosu58 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2009, 06:27 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Clear Lake , Texas
Posts: 21
Send a message via Yahoo to Benjithecookiemonster
Great!

Thanks sooo much, guys.

I have already put in the new sand and substrate. so, I'll probably just transfer over the water since it was just tested last night and was perfect

As soon as the temp is equal to what I have in the other, i'll acclimate the inhabitants and just move the rest of the rock over...

I just didn't know how long to wait before doing the transfer but seeing that it is the same or at least 5o% of the same water, there shouldn't be any harm...
__________________
Benjithecookiemonster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2009, 11:12 PM   #5
AA Team Emeritus
 
roka64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 13,860
Send a message via AIM to roka64 Send a message via Yahoo to roka64
Just keep in mind, the water contains very little of the beneficial bacteria that converts ammonia to nitrAtes, so don't count on that to speed the cycle of the tank.
If you are moving the LR and media over and not adding drastically to your bioload, you should be good to go.
__________________
Age is relative, you are only as old as you act....of course, this works in reverse....

Questions loved, heeded advice greatly appreciated!

Vote for AA
Good reading about:
Nitrogen Cycle
Fishless Cycling
Need more help?
Articles
Acronym List

--Scott
roka64 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2009, 01:06 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Clear Lake , Texas
Posts: 21
Send a message via Yahoo to Benjithecookiemonster
lols

Well... The transfer went well yesterday. Except that my Sea Urchin didn't make it. He stung the krap out of me and when I got him into the new tank he ran all around... then in about 3 or 4 hours... wasn't moving. Everything else is fine though.

I ended up taking all of the rubble rock and sea plants in the 55 gallon sump with the critters that were there as well and transferred them into the new sump for more filtration. As soon as I can get my camera back, I'll shoot some film and post!!

The Panther Grouper is soooo happy now with more swim room

~Benji~
__________________
Benjithecookiemonster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2009, 01:40 PM   #7
SW REEF 18+ YEARS
Community Admin
 
melosu58's Avatar



Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Virginia
Posts: 38,249
Glad everything went Ok
__________________

SITE ADMINISTRATOR

You can view many of my fish and corals in my photo albums in my profile.

View my tank


AA Community Rules|AA TOS

Forums 101 - posting, accounts, basics
melosu58 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2009, 01:51 PM   #8
AA Team Emeritus
 
roka64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 13,860
Send a message via AIM to roka64 Send a message via Yahoo to roka64
Sweet! Pics! Pics! Pics!!!!!!!!!
__________________
Age is relative, you are only as old as you act....of course, this works in reverse....

Questions loved, heeded advice greatly appreciated!

Vote for AA
Good reading about:
Nitrogen Cycle
Fishless Cycling
Need more help?
Articles
Acronym List

--Scott
roka64 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2009, 12:20 PM   #9
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Clear Lake , Texas
Posts: 21
Send a message via Yahoo to Benjithecookiemonster
OKAY!! Took Some pics with my SideKick... Not the best but you can see the set up and all. ENJOY!!
__________________
Benjithecookiemonster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2009, 12:29 PM   #10
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Clear Lake , Texas
Posts: 21
Send a message via Yahoo to Benjithecookiemonster
Also. There are crabs and snails in the Bio Ref with all of the plants and rock
Little eco-system down there as well
My plants you see in the last pic are about 14 inches tall.
I just wish the pics were clearer. I cannot get a good regular lit picture to save my life. Any suggestions about shooting photos of tanks with high-end light systems. i always get too much glare and wut-not.
__________________

__________________
Benjithecookiemonster is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
live, live rock, rock, tan, transfer

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ich in my tank with fish and live rock remob Saltwater & Reef - Sick Fish or Coral 6 10-13-2005 08:01 PM
Can a fish-only tank be set up without live rock? 20 20 Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 10 06-21-2005 10:41 PM
Upgrading tank - transfer equipment, keep fish alive... SwerveDriver Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 2 08-05-2004 08:29 PM
How do I transfer fish from a low pH to normal pH tank? Muppeholic Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 5 07-06-2004 12:32 AM
Fish Only Tank with Live Rock-skimmer or No skimmer triggers Saltwater Fish Only & FOWLR 1 08-30-2003 12:59 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:43 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.