Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Fish Only & FOWLR
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 06-23-2012, 04:06 PM   #11
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Readingexcalibur's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Las Vegas
Posts: 1,305
Cool, I'm off to research the reactor. RO membrane here last about 3-4 months. Can't afford it anymore lol.
__________________

__________________
"When you're down by the sea and an eel bites your knee... That's a Moray"
Readingexcalibur is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2012, 04:10 PM   #12
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Schism's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Lima, Ohio
Posts: 2,093
Quote:
Originally Posted by Readingexcalibur
Cool, I'm off to research the reactor. RO membrane here last about 3-4 months. Can't afford it anymore lol.
? 2-4 months? Are you running prefilters like a sediment and carbon block filters? If not thats probably the problem there. In any case never heard of such poor performance.

And for the reactor check out bulkreefsupply.com they make one for about $35 if memory serves me right. Only other need components are a maxijet to run the reactor and a quality media. Pretty simple really
__________________

__________________
29g Mixed Reef, 150w 14k Phoenix MH w/ Moonlights, Reef Octopus BH1000 HOB Skimmer, Ecotech Vortech MP10es, ReefKeeper Lite (Plus), PH Probe, Temp Probe, ATO, Carbon/GFO Reactor.
Schism is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2012, 04:14 PM   #13
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Readingexcalibur's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Las Vegas
Posts: 1,305
Yeah, I have a 6 stage RODI from filterdirect. I am running pre filters. The tap here is extremely hard because it is pumped in from lake mead on a 65 mile journey threw the desert and to me on the north side of las Vegas. It's all full of sediment, ect.
__________________
"When you're down by the sea and an eel bites your knee... That's a Moray"
Readingexcalibur is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2012, 06:16 PM   #14
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Schism's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Lima, Ohio
Posts: 2,093
Double post
__________________
29g Mixed Reef, 150w 14k Phoenix MH w/ Moonlights, Reef Octopus BH1000 HOB Skimmer, Ecotech Vortech MP10es, ReefKeeper Lite (Plus), PH Probe, Temp Probe, ATO, Carbon/GFO Reactor.
Schism is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2012, 06:21 PM   #15
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Schism's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Lima, Ohio
Posts: 2,093
Quote:
Originally Posted by Readingexcalibur
Yeah, I have a 6 stage RODI from filterdirect. I am running pre filters. The tap here is extremely hard because it is pumped in from lake mead on a 65 mile journey threw the desert and to me on the north side of las Vegas. It's all full of sediment, ect.
If thats the case a water softener would probably be extremely beneficial to your home.

But also just curious how you reach the conclusion your membrane needs replaced.
__________________
29g Mixed Reef, 150w 14k Phoenix MH w/ Moonlights, Reef Octopus BH1000 HOB Skimmer, Ecotech Vortech MP10es, ReefKeeper Lite (Plus), PH Probe, Temp Probe, ATO, Carbon/GFO Reactor.
Schism is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2012, 06:35 PM   #16
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Readingexcalibur's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Las Vegas
Posts: 1,305
The phosphates start climbing from the "pure" water sample. I have often considered a water softener. However, I am in the military. That's a lot of money considering I am only renting lol. Praying my next station is somewhere with softer water! Ha
__________________
"When you're down by the sea and an eel bites your knee... That's a Moray"
Readingexcalibur is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2012, 06:41 PM   #17
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Schism's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Lima, Ohio
Posts: 2,093
Quote:
Originally Posted by Readingexcalibur
The phosphates start climbing from the "pure" water sample. I have often considered a water softener. However, I am in the military. That's a lot of money considering I am only renting lol. Praying my next station is somewhere with softer water! Ha
Ah yeah that would be hard. Well im sure you could organize a sea water rescue mission with your CO lol. Jk

Anyways. By the pure sample do you mean that the tank is the source of the phosphates or the starting water?

If it were the tank then that would be completely solvable.
__________________

__________________
29g Mixed Reef, 150w 14k Phoenix MH w/ Moonlights, Reef Octopus BH1000 HOB Skimmer, Ecotech Vortech MP10es, ReefKeeper Lite (Plus), PH Probe, Temp Probe, ATO, Carbon/GFO Reactor.
Schism is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
tap water

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off








» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:58 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.