Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Fish Only & FOWLR
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 03-13-2011, 03:02 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Wallasy Liverpool UK
Posts: 125
Top up water??

Would water from my long established fw tank be ideal top up water for my marine????

Sent from my iPhone using Aquarium
__________________

__________________
Rossij101 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2011, 03:23 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Wallasy Liverpool UK
Posts: 125
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rossij101
Would water from my long established fw tank be ideal top up water for my marine????

Sent from my iPhone using Aquarium
Looking for quick reply half way through fw water change!?!?

Sent from my iPhone using Aquarium
__________________

__________________
Rossij101 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2011, 03:29 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
iDream's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: No longer here.
Posts: 2,862
I would just use fresh RODI.
__________________
iDream is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2011, 03:34 PM   #4
SW REEF 18+ YEARS
Community Admin
 
melosu58's Avatar



Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Virginia
Posts: 38,249
You talking take FW from your FW tank and add it to your SW tank for top off. No, you dont want to do that. No telling what`s in the tank. I`m sure plenty of excessive nutrients. If anything go to Walmart and get some RO water.
__________________

SITE ADMINISTRATOR

You can view many of my fish and corals in my photo albums in my profile.

View my tank


AA Community Rules|AA TOS

Forums 101 - posting, accounts, basics
melosu58 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2011, 03:37 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Wallasy Liverpool UK
Posts: 125
Quote:
Originally Posted by melosu58
You talking take FW from your FW tank and add it to your SW tank for top off. No, you dont want to do that. No telling what`s in the tank. I`m sure plenty of excessive nutrients. If anything go to Walmart and get some RO water.
No wallmart here mate live in Liverpool UK but thanks 4 responce won't be doing that now!!!

Sent from my iPhone using Aquarium
__________________
Rossij101 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2011, 03:50 PM   #6
SW REEF 18+ YEARS
Community Admin
 
melosu58's Avatar



Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Virginia
Posts: 38,249
Hopefull there is someone there that sells RO water. You dont want tap or FW from your FW tank.
__________________

SITE ADMINISTRATOR

You can view many of my fish and corals in my photo albums in my profile.

View my tank


AA Community Rules|AA TOS

Forums 101 - posting, accounts, basics
melosu58 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2011, 04:55 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Wallasy Liverpool UK
Posts: 125
Quote:
Originally Posted by melosu58
Hopefull there is someone there that sells RO water. You dont want tap or FW from your FW tank.
Waiting to buy RO Di unit at the moment!! Have always used tap water on it for over a year now.I have got a 20 gallon marine tank now also which is why im buying filter unit. Obviously I will use water from it on both tanks. The fresh water tank has never had any problems but I know if I we're to continue to use tap, I would be heading to disaster..

Sent from my iPhone using Aquarium
__________________
Rossij101 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2011, 05:02 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Wallasy Liverpool UK
Posts: 125
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rossij101

Waiting to buy RO Di unit at the moment!! Have always used tap water on it for over a year now.I have got a 20 gallon marine tank now also which is why im buying filter unit. Obviously I will use water from it on both tanks. The fresh water tank has never had any problems but I know if I we're to continue to use tap, I would be heading to disaster..

Sent from my iPhone using Aquarium
Obviously I treat the water

Sent from my iPhone using Aquarium
__________________

__________________
Rossij101 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
water top off skratchiechan Saltwater Fish Only & FOWLR 4 12-30-2010 05:31 PM
Top-Off water? fshfrk58 Saltwater Reef Aquaria 5 10-27-2009 03:26 PM
Water change and water top off idea! sdveirs Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 8 05-17-2005 10:04 AM
Top-Off Water Aztlan Saltwater Reef Aquaria 10 03-04-2004 12:22 AM
Top off water TriggerHappy Saltwater Reef Aquaria 13 11-20-2003 06:11 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:08 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.