Trouble cycling

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

jester23

Aquarium Advice Activist
Hi everyone. I'm new to this. I have set up a 20 gallon about 2 weeks ago. Being new to this I was talked into cycling with damsels. I now know it is wrong. I need help though. The two blue damsels have been in my aquarium for a week now and i have still only 0.25 ppm ammonia. I thought I should have ammonia by now. Please advise.

with only 2 damsels you won't generate a whole lot of ammonia. Since you do have .25ppm it is working and your cycle has started, just keep an eye on your water parameters.

thanks....suggestion?

thanks. do you have any suggestion on whether i should just take these guys back to the lfs and just use pure ammonia? would it be faster then?

thanks. do you have any suggestion on whether i should just take these guys back to the lfs and just use pure ammonia? would it be faster then?

It wont be any faster. More ammonia in the beginning will just mean more bacteria at the end. If you can take the damsels back, then most deffinately yes!

For one, you are torturing them with that ammonia. If they survive, they will likely be quite disgruntled with you and any new fish to come. ;-)

Maybe this is how a damsel becomes a real demon fish? They are born trouble makers, and then become pissed when subjected to a cycle?
:2gunfire:
Matt

thanks

Thanks a lot. You're right. I didn't know about the cycling process and the pain it causes the fish. Back to the fish store tomorrow morning.

Thank you for deciding to take the fish back to the store.
Tell us a bit more about your tank.
Substrate?
Filtration?
Any Live Rock?