Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Fish Only & FOWLR
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 01-30-2004, 07:55 PM   #11
AA Team Emeritus
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Louisiana
Posts: 7,224
Send a message via Yahoo to Hara
i own 3 turbofloaters...I like them alot...good choice.
__________________

__________________
Hara is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2004, 01:40 AM   #12
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Stanley, Virginia
Posts: 12
Hello, my space behind my tank is 8" from the wall, and with the turboflotor, it takes up 7- 7 1/2", it is constantly pulling out this used motor oil nlooking stuff
__________________

__________________
ReefKeeper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2004, 10:27 AM   #13
AA Team Emeritus
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Louisiana
Posts: 7,224
Send a message via Yahoo to Hara
then it is doing its job!
__________________
Hara is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2004, 11:45 PM   #14
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Central PA
Posts: 971
hmmmm......any idea why www.marinedepot.com suggests that a minimum of 10" be available behind the aquarium to work properly? This is one of the main reasons I didn't go with it for my FOWLR tank.
__________________
HoopsGuru is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2004, 07:09 PM   #15
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Stanley, Virginia
Posts: 12
no, i have about 7" behind my tank, and the skimmer fits perfectly, also it skims great
__________________
ReefKeeper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2004, 04:49 PM   #16
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Stanley, Virginia
Posts: 12
Hello, I've been very satisfied witht he multi, I needed about 7 inches behind the tank, It is producing this oil colored water. The only thing I wish it had was an on/off switch, its kinda difficult for me to unplug the cord from the powerstrip when I need to empty the cup, I empty about once every 2 weeks. (Its difficult because I have to crawl around furniture to unplug the cord). I bought my son the remora, he loves it and is getting tea colored water, and his is quiet. He got the maxijet 1200 with his.
__________________
ReefKeeper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2004, 05:00 PM   #17
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Stanley, Virginia
Posts: 12
Hello, I've been very satisfied witht he multi, I needed about 7 inches behind the tank, It is producing this oil colored water. The only thing I wish it had was an on/off switch, its kinda difficult for me to unplug the cord from the powerstrip when I need to empty the cup, I empty about once every 2 weeks. (Its difficult because I have to crawl around furniture to unplug the cord). I bought my son the remora, he loves it and is getting tea colored water, and his is quiet. He got the maxijet 1200 with his.
__________________
ReefKeeper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2004, 05:15 PM   #18
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Stanley, Virginia
Posts: 12
sorry i posted twice
__________________
ReefKeeper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2004, 12:48 AM   #19
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
I own A turbo floater multi and its on a 55gal. It works great. It only takes up about 7in. behind the tank. If I put it there but right now its under the tank hanging on my sump. Its quite quiet. As for the having to unplug it to empty the cup, I never unplug it. I cap the air intake.
__________________
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2004, 02:53 PM   #20
AA Team Emeritus
 
cmor1701d's Avatar


 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Belle Mead, NJ
Posts: 7,814
I have the 1000 multi on my 125. It usually works fine but I'm getting a bigger, in-sump unit. The problems I've had are that it is quite sensitive to water levels. Too much water (too high) and it just pumps water into the cup. I have to unplug it during water changes. That's because there is no on/off switch. I also recently added a small air pump so that it would continue to make bubbles. I plan on pulling it out this weekend for an overhaul. I think there might be a small crack in the platic of the pump air intake. All in all I like this unit. I'm sure it would be better in a true sump than it is in my converted wet/dry.
__________________

cmor1701d is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
ich, oto, remora

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Aqua Medic Turboflotor 1000 Multi - 1st impression cmor1701d General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 13 08-01-2010 11:35 AM
Turboflotor 1000 multi Skimmer $175 jrp1588 Archive 0 02-05-2010 04:00 PM
Aqua Medic Turboflotor 1000 Multi SL Skimmer Problem Reefer27 General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 1 03-17-2009 02:56 AM
Aqua-C Remora or Remora Pro - How to make it quieter! Kurt_Nelson General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 2 03-19-2007 11:47 AM
Aqua C Urchin Pro vs Turboflotor 1000 vs ASM G-1 mardeebo General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 2 05-25-2005 03:40 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:06 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.