Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Fish Only & FOWLR
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 11-17-2013, 10:30 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 378
Water

Do you need to use ro water for a fowlr tank? Or can you get away with regular water from the hose? With like chemicals
__________________

__________________
Cb24 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2013, 12:06 AM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
TheTodd's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Palm Springs, CA
Posts: 3,110
I would (and do) use RO. Get it from the machines if you can't get an RO or RODI system of your own.
__________________

__________________
TheTodd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2013, 12:39 AM   #3
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
carey's Avatar

POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Deltona, Florida
Posts: 20,962
You may experience algae problems using regular water. Even with fish only there are repercussions to using tap water. I use ro/di water even in my fish only tanks, just makes things easier. Like mentioned above you can get it from the big vending machines you see at places like walmart.
__________________
180g Reef - 60g Rimless Reef -90G FOWLR- 125g Malawi Cichlids- 40b REEF- 34g Fresh Planted-working on- 20L FOWLR- working on
I have a mix of many different saltwater fish amongst my tanks, but I love my Tangs most of all.
carey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2013, 07:14 AM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
huma-huma's Avatar

POTM Champion
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: washington Pa
Posts: 5,257
Quote:
Originally Posted by carey View Post
You may experience algae problems using regular water. Even with fish only there are repercussions to using tap water. I use ro/di water even in my fish only tanks, just makes things easier. Like mentioned above you can get it from the big vending machines you see at places like walmart.
+1. youll more than likely be battling a never-ending algae issue. switching over to rodi water was prob the best thing ive done in terms of maintaince
__________________
my 125g Sw...Round 2!http://www.aquariumadvice.com/forums...220171-33.html
ever see someone cut a 125g in half??
http://www.aquariumadvice.com/forums...-286438-4.html
huma-huma is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2013, 04:54 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Gregcoyote's Avatar



Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Columbia, Missouri
Posts: 8,320
In a few communities the water is pure enough to get away with it, but in most cases you are far safer starting with water you know is pure.
__________________
Gregcoyote is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2013, 05:31 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 378
I'm thinking of buying one does anyone have any recommendations?
__________________
Cb24 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2013, 05:51 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
carey's Avatar

POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Deltona, Florida
Posts: 20,962
Ilike my bulk reef supply unit. It was $180 but it has all the bells and whistles. lol You can get a unit from them for maybe $150.

I dont know the tank size you are going with but if its small you can also try this:

0ppm Portable 50 GPD Reverse Osmosis Ro Di Filtration | eBay

The same seller also has larger units that produce water faster than 50 gpd. I had one of the ebay ones and used it for over a year and it worked just fine.
__________________
180g Reef - 60g Rimless Reef -90G FOWLR- 125g Malawi Cichlids- 40b REEF- 34g Fresh Planted-working on- 20L FOWLR- working on
I have a mix of many different saltwater fish amongst my tanks, but I love my Tangs most of all.
carey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2013, 07:22 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 378
Does this connect to a faucet?
__________________
Cb24 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2013, 07:30 PM   #9
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
huma-huma's Avatar

POTM Champion
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: washington Pa
Posts: 5,257
pretty much any of BRS units have the capability to connect to a faucet. i believe they ship with a nifty little adapter piece that screws onto the end of your faucet in place of the mesh screen. it has a t split on it with a valve to control the flow.
__________________
my 125g Sw...Round 2!http://www.aquariumadvice.com/forums...220171-33.html
ever see someone cut a 125g in half??
http://www.aquariumadvice.com/forums...-286438-4.html
huma-huma is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2013, 07:36 PM   #10
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 378
On the one that person posted would I need to buy anything extra? Or does everything I need come with it
__________________

__________________
Cb24 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off








» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:05 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.