Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Fish Only & FOWLR
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 06-03-2007, 11:37 PM   #11
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Poughkeepsie, NY
Posts: 3,294
when I got water at a LFS it was $1 a gal for fresh.
And you want a Micron filter then carbon then Ro membrane and at least 1 stage DI resin.
Do a search for ro/di or water filters and there should be plenty of posts on them.
__________________

__________________
9/02-125 REEF, 125 lbs LR,LS 4x160 VHO, Reef Devil /Sump, Fuge
7/03-55 FOWLR 60lb LR, 50 lb SD sand 2x40 NO strip light, Reef Devil/sump, Fuge

TANK PICS http://www.aquariumadvice.com/viewtopic.php?t=98202
seaham358 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2007, 10:24 AM   #12
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 158
When I first started my tank, I used tap water, that was a big mistake. I never realized I should test the tap water. It turns out that my water from the tap has nitrates in it. So each time I did a partial change, I was dumping nitrates into the tank. Then I used to buy the pre made salt water in the 5 gallon jugs. After time, that adds up. I then bought a RO system and it is by far the best thing to do. I also purchased mine on ebay.
__________________

__________________
saywill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2007, 10:50 AM   #13
AA Team Emeritus
 
roka64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 13,860
Send a message via AIM to roka64 Send a message via Yahoo to roka64
This is the one I have:
http://cgi.ebay.com/New-6-stage-100-...QQcmdZViewItem
Although, this one looks to bet better and I believe Mike has one:
http://www.drsfostersmith.com/Produc...fm?pcatid=4453
Have you tested your tap water?
__________________
Age is relative, you are only as old as you act....of course, this works in reverse....

Questions loved, heeded advice greatly appreciated!

Vote for AA
Good reading about:
Nitrogen Cycle
Fishless Cycling
Need more help?
Articles
Acronym List

--Scott
roka64 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2007, 04:43 PM   #14
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: not here anymore
Posts: 5,338
Quote:
Originally Posted by mike3epanda
... I guess i have to get one now, but is 2 stage filter good enough?
Well... I suppose it's better than using nothing at all and using straight tap water. But with how much money you're eventually going to end up with in this tank, is "good enough" really what you want to start out with?

I understand you're on a budget - I've followed your other posts. You can have a saltwater tank really cheap - no problem. Skip the skimmer, skimp on live rock, use tap water with cheap salt, only change water every couple months, and don't buy test kits but instead rely on how agitated your fish look. Plenty of folks do it. But you end up with something that becomes so frustratingly time-consuming as you battle one problem to the next, that you'll most likely give it up in under a year as being "too much hassle" and assume that saltwater tanks truly are impossible like they're often made out to be.


Hopefully I'm not coming off as preachy or condescending, but you really need to ask yourself why you want this tank. While there are a lot of ways to save money in setting up a tank (DIY skimmers, second-hand equipment, etc...) doing it "on the cheap" will not save you money in the long run.

The good folks before my post speak the truth - water is the main ingredient! Even in my area (Western Washington), where we have absolutely awesome water, I wouldn't think about putting it straight from the tap into my tank. I started out with minimal filtration (a Kold Steril unit, not RO... but don't go that route if you're looking for cheap!) and tested the filtered water. At the time, there were no nitrates in it. But about 3 months after the tank was going, nitrates started showing up in my source water. I ended up adding a DI unit inline with the Kold Steril to get me back to 0 nitrates. Point is... I should've started that way because it was silly of me to think my water chemistry would always stay the same. I now don't have to worry about what my water company is doing behind my back because my water is consistant batch to batch - because it's pure. Consistancy is one of the keys to this hobby, and consistant water leaves you one less thing to worry about.

PS... the filter media in the Kold Steril units are pretty much the same thing as poly-filters which change color as they suck up the contaminants. The color depends on what it's taking out of the water. Mine are turning a nice shade of blue, which means it's taking copper out of my water. Copper is a big no-no if you're considering any corals. There's more in water than just nitrates, ammonia, and phospates... just an FYI.
__________________
Kurt_Nelson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2007, 06:44 PM   #15
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: WA
Posts: 228
i know this might sound stupid but i'm gonna ask it anyways..

does boiling tap water get rid of nitrate? I know t wont 't get rid of heavy metals & other dilluted solids but will it even help at all if I boil it? also I want to know the info on my state tap water and i live in WA... can't find an article about it
__________________
mike3epanda is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2007, 09:36 PM   #16
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: not here anymore
Posts: 5,338
No. Boiling doesn't do anything but kill some bacteria. (Unless you're talking distillation.)

Contact your local water agency - whoever you pay your water bill to. I believe they are mandated by the Feds to have annual water quality test results available. I *thought* they also had to send them to you, but am probably wrong on that account. However... I wouldn't take those reports to the bank. They only have to test once a year - and they get to pick when they test. That one test for that one day is what they give you for results. Plus, that doesn't mean those are the results for your subsystem within your neighborhood or house.
__________________
Kurt_Nelson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2007, 10:29 PM   #17
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Poughkeepsie, NY
Posts: 3,294
Quote:
Originally Posted by mike3epanda
i know this might sound stupid but i'm gonna ask it anyways..

does boiling tap water get rid of nitrate? I know t wont 't get rid of heavy metals & other dilluted solids but will it even help at all if I boil it? also I want to know the info on my state tap water and i live in WA... can't find an article about it
There is NO way to cut corners on water quality.... PERIOD
If you want to try your luck with your tap water then go for it... ( which it looks like you want to do)
In the end its your tank and you will do what you want with it. Forget looking for a water report get a RO/DI or just use the tap.

And there is no such thing as a stupid question in this hobby......
__________________
9/02-125 REEF, 125 lbs LR,LS 4x160 VHO, Reef Devil /Sump, Fuge
7/03-55 FOWLR 60lb LR, 50 lb SD sand 2x40 NO strip light, Reef Devil/sump, Fuge

TANK PICS http://www.aquariumadvice.com/viewtopic.php?t=98202
seaham358 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2007, 05:18 PM   #18
AA Team Emeritus
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 3,462
A DI alone will do just fine and save you some waste water in the process. If this is for a newly set up tank, no livestock, there would be no harm in experimentation in just using tap.
__________________
Innovator is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2007, 05:27 PM   #19
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: WA
Posts: 228
YES... I am just going to start this... (no cycle yet) NEW TANK... so it's ok to use tap in the beginning?... and get RO/DI for PWC later on?
__________________
mike3epanda is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2007, 05:37 PM   #20
AA Team Emeritus
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 3,462
Well, like others have said it can depend on your water source. From a personal standpoint, I have always used tap and never had any problems with algae knowing that the water source isn't up to par; however, it works for me. Since this is a brand new tank, there should be no reason why you could not experiment with tap and purchase a di unit down the line when funding is more available to you.
__________________

Innovator is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Water submersion switch to turn off filter pump if water helicopter DIY Projects 7 03-31-2007 05:54 AM
Bacteria bloom (white cloudy water) in water change tub? 20 20 Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 1 01-16-2006 02:44 PM
Max Time Keeping Marine Water in Water/Air Tight Drums flanque General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 0 03-28-2005 03:25 AM
Brita filtered water: Ph 7, softens water, remove bad stuff Blucat Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 7 03-21-2005 10:12 PM
QT water, should I use fresh slat water or old tank water? MadManMac Saltwater Reef Aquaria 1 12-27-2004 09:13 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:48 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.