Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Fish Only & FOWLR
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 02-02-2011, 03:40 PM   #11
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
hdultra's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Missouri
Posts: 1,180
Was your tank fully cycled.

I sent this to

PM X Coleallensmom
__________________

__________________
Thank You all for sharing our hobby with me. I have learned so much, I don't know everything, and I'm not a expert. But if I can share what I have learned I'll be glad to share.
hdultra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2011, 03:43 PM   #12
Tlc
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Canada
Posts: 289
I think so as I had a small spike in ammonia when I added mollies and mono's and then it was at 0 for awhile. So off went my mollies and mono's and now we have the nicer fish. They seem hood eating well and everything but I'll change the water cause it doesn't hurt.
__________________

__________________
Tlc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2011, 03:50 PM   #13
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
hdultra's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Missouri
Posts: 1,180
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tlc View Post
I think so as I had a small spike in ammonia when I added mollies and mono's and then it was at 0 for awhile. So off went my mollies and mono's and now we have the nicer fish. They seem hood eating well and everything but I'll change the water cause it doesn't hurt.

I'm suprised that we don't see Nitrites or even Nitrate reading with the ammonia being that high.

Make sure you shake you testing bottles real well. Exspecially Nitrate.
__________________
Thank You all for sharing our hobby with me. I have learned so much, I don't know everything, and I'm not a expert. But if I can share what I have learned I'll be glad to share.
hdultra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2011, 03:52 PM   #14
Tlc
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Canada
Posts: 289
I thought nitrate was between 5-10ppm? I will retest here and I'll take new pictures
__________________
Tlc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2011, 03:57 PM   #15
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
hdultra's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Missouri
Posts: 1,180
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tlc View Post
I thought nitrate was between 5-10ppm? I will retest here and I'll take new pictures
I'm Seeing
0 nitrite
0 nitrate
__________________
Thank You all for sharing our hobby with me. I have learned so much, I don't know everything, and I'm not a expert. But if I can share what I have learned I'll be glad to share.
hdultra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2011, 03:59 PM   #16
Tlc
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Canada
Posts: 289
I shook the bottle good.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	image-1002554207.jpg
Views:	91
Size:	48.0 KB
ID:	27787  
__________________
Tlc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2011, 04:01 PM   #17
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
Coleallensmom's Avatar


 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 1,943
If the tank was previously cycled, it is possible that adding the rock stirred up some of your bacteria causing a small ammonia spike. I have freshwater tanks but regardless, I agree with hdultra...the .50ppm ammonia should be lower as anything over .25ppm can begin to stress fish. A PWC would help with that. Prime is great but it only lasts for a day or so before it becomes ineffective again.
__________________

Check out my 50 Gallon Build
Coleallensmom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2011, 04:03 PM   #18
Tlc
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Canada
Posts: 289
Ok I'm gonna do a water change right now it is heating up as I am typing. Ok so if my nitrate are 0 then my tank is not cycled yet? Or is it low because I just changed some of the water?
__________________
Tlc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2011, 04:11 PM   #19
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
hdultra's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Missouri
Posts: 1,180
Thanks Alicia

My thought would be of ammonia is that high,
Ammonia turns into Nitrites wich are 0ppm And then The Nitrites turn into Nitrates wich are 0ppm also. So at some point nitrites and nitrate will show up soon. Even after water changes. Just my thoughts.
__________________
Thank You all for sharing our hobby with me. I have learned so much, I don't know everything, and I'm not a expert. But if I can share what I have learned I'll be glad to share.
hdultra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2011, 04:22 PM   #20
Tlc
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Canada
Posts: 289
Ok so how long should this go on for?
__________________

__________________
Tlc is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
First Water Test Results!! kingman8610 Saltwater Reef Aquaria 10 11-27-2010 08:27 PM
Water Test Results black hills tj Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 4 04-15-2007 04:29 PM
water results- ntswift Saltwater Reef Aquaria 9 06-09-2006 12:47 AM
water results- ntswift Saltwater Reef Aquaria 8 03-09-2006 04:15 PM
Water Results after first RO water change.... AquariumFreak Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 11 05-10-2004 03:32 AM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:00 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.