Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Fish Only & FOWLR
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 02-02-2011, 02:42 PM   #1
Tlc
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Canada
Posts: 289
Water results?

Now there is ammonia
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	image-166493325.jpg
Views:	157
Size:	44.8 KB
ID:	27782   Click image for larger version

Name:	image-56688571.jpg
Views:	163
Size:	50.2 KB
ID:	27784  

__________________

__________________
Tlc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2011, 02:53 PM   #2
Tlc
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Canada
Posts: 289
I don't know if I am reading this right I would interpret those results as
Ph 8.2
Ammonia 1.0
Nitrite 0
Nitrate 5-10
Am I right?
__________________

__________________
Tlc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2011, 02:56 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
hdultra's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Missouri
Posts: 1,180
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tlc View Post
I don't know if I am reading this right I would interpret those results as
Ph 8.2
Ammonia 1.0
Nitrite 0
Nitrate 5-10
Am I right?

Ammonia looks more like .50
__________________
Thank You all for sharing our hobby with me. I have learned so much, I don't know everything, and I'm not a expert. But if I can share what I have learned I'll be glad to share.
hdultra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2011, 03:08 PM   #4
Tlc
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Canada
Posts: 289
At what level ammonia should I change water again?
__________________
Tlc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2011, 03:10 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
hdultra's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Missouri
Posts: 1,180
You must get it below .25 as soon as possible.
What is the history of your tank. When did you do your last water change and how much water did you change out.

You need to work your way so that eventually:
Ammonia 0 ppm
Nitrites 0 ppm
Nitrate Kept around or below 20 ppm
__________________
Thank You all for sharing our hobby with me. I have learned so much, I don't know everything, and I'm not a expert. But if I can share what I have learned I'll be glad to share.
hdultra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2011, 03:22 PM   #6
Tlc
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Canada
Posts: 289
I changed 2 days ago 5 gallons is what I have been changing every 3-4 days. I just added about 15lbs of cured live rock 3 days go so this is probably a little die off from it. My fish are totally 100% fine maybe because I use prime in every water change. The tank is 3 1/2 weeks old
__________________
Tlc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2011, 03:25 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
hdultra's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Missouri
Posts: 1,180
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tlc View Post
I changed 2 days ago 5 gallons is what I have been changing every 3-4 days. I just added about 15lbs of cured live rock 3 days go so this is probably a little die off from it. My fish are totally 100% fine maybe because I use prime in every water change. The tank is 3 1/2 weeks old

How big is your tank. Ammonia levels must be brought down or your fish will probably be real stressed.


The only good way to do that is with PWCs...Don't do less than 50%.

I'm going to bring in someone who is awesome at this.
__________________
Thank You all for sharing our hobby with me. I have learned so much, I don't know everything, and I'm not a expert. But if I can share what I have learned I'll be glad to share.
hdultra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2011, 03:28 PM   #8
Tlc
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Canada
Posts: 289
My tank is a 55 gallon
__________________
Tlc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2011, 03:31 PM   #9
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
hdultra's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Missouri
Posts: 1,180
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tlc View Post
My tank is a 55 gallon

Mine is also a 55.
Your going to have to do this daily until you get the ammonia to stay close to 0 ppm. I'm sorry to have to tell you this. I sent a pm to someone who can walk you through.
__________________
Thank You all for sharing our hobby with me. I have learned so much, I don't know everything, and I'm not a expert. But if I can share what I have learned I'll be glad to share.
hdultra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2011, 03:38 PM   #10
Tlc
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Canada
Posts: 289
Ok so I'll start dont I need to allow my saltwater mix to aerate for 24 hrs first? I just made some today for the next day or so
__________________

__________________
Tlc is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
First Water Test Results!! kingman8610 Saltwater Reef Aquaria 10 11-27-2010 08:27 PM
Water Test Results black hills tj Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 4 04-15-2007 04:29 PM
water results- ntswift Saltwater Reef Aquaria 9 06-09-2006 12:47 AM
water results- ntswift Saltwater Reef Aquaria 8 03-09-2006 04:15 PM
Water Results after first RO water change.... AquariumFreak Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 11 05-10-2004 03:32 AM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:25 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.