what do I do?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

lynda orourke

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
Hi

I am a toatl novice at fish keeping and a few months ago I was given a marine tank, to be honest I don't know what I'm doing with it.

Its about 25L and containes living rocks a clown fish, another fish I haven't been able to identife a snail and what I think are bristleworms.

It has a trickle filtatration system.

The guy that gave it to me said I that what I needed to do to maintain it was
-remove the black algue as it builds up
-top up with warm tap water as it evaporates off
-check the density
-rinse the sponge in the filter if it gets to cloged up

Having read up on marine tanks I am not convinced about his advise.

He also said that he had kept hermit crabs and shrimp in the tank but that they had died

what should I do next
-

The first thing that jumped out at me was ........ "remove the black algue as it builds up". I don't know exactly what black algea is. Maybe cyanobacteria? Can you take a pic?
What kind of water are you using to top off? It doesn't have to be warm. Room temp is fine since you are probably only adding a little at a time.
Density (specific gravity or salinity) shouldn't really change except for evaporation. What is it at now and how do you check it?
Where is the sponge located? It should be cleaned every couple days.
Do you have any test kits? It's good to know the tanks water parameters. Get some readings for ph, nitrate and alk for now.
How often are you doing water changes and what kind of salt do you use?

Are you have any major issues with the tank now or are you just looking for some general maintainence info?

I am topping up with RO water at room temp, using tap water didn't sound like a sane idea. will do a chem check when I get home. sponge is in a copartment at the top of the tank.