Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Fish Only & FOWLR
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Old 03-09-2011, 10:08 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice Newbie

Send a message via Yahoo to rickster0620
what is growing on my live rock?

I'm new here and using a phone to navigate so please bear with me. I'm also new to saltwater and am probably the least desirable type of new member you get here. I rushed into getting a saltwater tank and figure I'll learn as I go. My live rock is sprouting little clear tube like plants can anyone tell me what they are? And more importantly do I want them?

Old 03-09-2011, 10:13 AM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict

POTM Champion

Welcome to the forum. It's members like you that can benefit the most so when and if you have any questions feel free to ask and post pictures. Are you cycling your tank? Do you have fish? Size of tank, water readings stuff like that can be very useful.

Old 03-09-2011, 01:51 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Newbie

I am cycling the tank. This of my first ever attempt at salt water. I am going with a fowlr setup but need more LR. I have a 75 gal tank with two otb filters and a canister to soon be added. Twin bulb t5 light w/ 2 - 28w bulbs (10,000k daylight/actinic-03) and five led night lights. Crushed coral for substrate. 4 pieces of LR probably 15lbs. And started with 5 damsels (because they said I should, "they" being the pet store that I bought my light from). My parameters are currently : specific gravity 1.025, Ph 8.4, kh 300, no-2 .5, no+3 20. Water temp is 78.6
Old 03-09-2011, 05:23 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Activist