Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Fish Only & FOWLR
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 04-23-2007, 09:21 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 71
Send a message via MSN to oo7cable
What is this?

I have a massive algae problem. Ive done EVERYTHING you can to get rid of it. My tank is UGLY! I bought some media to remove the Phospates. All my tests are perfect, and yet I have a massive amount of redslime algae in my tank! I have 3 PH and the filter moving about 1100gph. I feed every other day. I change about 20% of the water every week. I dont know what else to do! I change my light cycle down to 6 hours. Nw i have some sort of "roots" growing in the sand under the algae. I cleared the sand away and ther are "strings" comming out of the sand like roots. What the heck is it? My fish are fine, but I have lost 2 of 4 Turbo snails.
__________________

__________________
oo7cable is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2007, 10:03 PM   #2
SW REEF 18+ YEARS
Community Admin
 
melosu58's Avatar



Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Virginia
Posts: 38,249
When you do a PWC do you draw this cyano out with your siphon hose? It`s best to take it out sand and all then do these measures. When I say sand I mean the part that is affected by this algea.
__________________

__________________

SITE ADMINISTRATOR

You can view many of my fish and corals in my photo albums in my profile.

View my tank


AA Community Rules|AA TOS

Forums 101 - posting, accounts, basics
melosu58 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2007, 10:54 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 71
Send a message via MSN to oo7cable
Oh yeah, I take it out everytime!!

Im about to do a week long black out then change out the sand completly.

Do you know what the "Roots" are? I have a pic but its so hard to see them its not worth posting.
__________________
oo7cable is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2007, 11:51 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
flanque's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 740
Sounds intense. It has to feed of something so even if you lights out for a week, it may come back with water changes in the future.
flanque is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2007, 01:35 AM   #5
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: not here anymore
Posts: 5,338
Is your "My Info" correct?

Quote:
55Gal FOWLR: 2 Blue Devil - 2 Three Stripe - 2 Domino - 1 Yellow tail - 2 percula clowns - 1 Neon Velvet - 1 Bicolored Angel - 1 puffer so 12 fish total. 10-15 hermit crabs, 20Lbs LR, Rena Filstar XP2, NO LIGHTING - Need suggestions (Metal Halide?), Protien Skimmer Comming Soon!!!
If so, then I'd say you're a tad bit overstocked. (OK... more than just a tad.) I'm thinking your nitrates are pretty high, which is feeding the slime. How old is this tank?
__________________
Kurt_Nelson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2007, 08:56 AM   #6
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 840
What type of salt do you use? I read recently in this post

http://www.aquariumadvice.com/viewto...902b13dd402dff

that Instant Ocean salt mix may contribute to cyano
__________________
"I know the human being and fish can coexist peacefully."
‚ÄĒSaginaw, Mich., Sept. 29, 2000
ClamKnuckle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2007, 09:42 AM   #7
AA Team Emeritus
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: VA
Posts: 3,391
Send a message via Yahoo to tecwzrd
Algae needs excess nutrients to feed off of. Mostly it's levels of po4 above .03 ppm that causes algae blooms. No3 plays a small role also but IME only if it's above 20 ppm.

Even though you may test po4 in the tank at 0 ppm the algae may be consuming most of it to give you a false reading.

Have you tested your source water for no3/po4? (before and after mixing your salt)

I agree with Kurt that you are heavily overstocked for a 55 gal even if all your fish are juveniles. Even if you are maintaining no3 levels with constant pwc the amount of food needed to feed that many fish is going to contribute greatly to excess nutrients that feeds the algae.

The Protien Skimmer can't come soon enough. You need a powerful skimmer to help reduce doc, clean your canister weekly, and reduce your fish load to 12" of adult length or you will be fighting algae forever.
__________________
-Micah-

If you haven't figured it out yet I like to BOLD links :P

Vote for AA at Aqua Rank
tecwzrd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2007, 03:29 AM   #8
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 71
Send a message via MSN to oo7cable
Hey Guys,

Ok so my tank info is not correct, I have One Clown, 2 damsels, and my puffer. About 5 hermits and 2 Turbo Snails.

Source water is RO/DI, Po4 Before and After is so small it wont read it. I've tried everything....I'm totally frustrated. I wanna take it all down and start from scratch!!

I still have not Idea what the "Roots" are. I've looked them up online, and found nothing!

Thanks for helping guys!
__________________
oo7cable is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2007, 10:13 PM   #9
AA Team Emeritus
 
roka64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 13,860
Send a message via AIM to roka64 Send a message via Yahoo to roka64
What is this?

I had the similar situation, I now run a phosban reactor, with phosban and a bag of purigen. Sorry I didn't link them, but I had a super loooong day. Check them out on the drs website. (not yelling here) KEEP IN MIND, this will help (not substitute) in getting your water in shape ALONG with regular tank maint.
The "roots" are probably where it started and is still "stuck" to the sand or growing out of it.
__________________
Age is relative, you are only as old as you act....of course, this works in reverse....

Questions loved, heeded advice greatly appreciated!

Vote for AA
Good reading about:
Nitrogen Cycle
Fishless Cycling
Need more help?
Articles
Acronym List

--Scott
roka64 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2007, 10:13 PM   #10
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 71
Send a message via MSN to oo7cable
Roka - Yeah I was looking at that reactor. I run some phosban in my filter, and the upkeep is routine. Im going to drain almost all of the tank and scoop out the sand, wash it off and replace it. Hopefully that will do it.

Thanks again
__________________

__________________
oo7cable is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off








» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:59 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.