What would the process of moving of a FOWLR tank be?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Corey

Aquarium Advice Activist
I'm considering upgrading to a 46 gallon FOWLR tank from my 20 gallon FW tank over the summer, but seeing as I'm a college student, I'd have to move it to school for the fall and home in the spring (so twice a year). School is not far from an home (~ an hour), and I have adequate moving space/equipment. If I were to go for it, I may not even put fish into it until after I bring it up to school for fall semester, as the LFS near school is fantastic.
I'm wondering what steps you would take/how difficult it would be to move a 46 gallon FOWLR setup, and if it would be worth it for me to go for it. Also, if done correctly, the likelihood of losing fish/rock/inverts.
I'm not afraid of an entire day's work, I'm just wondering if there's anything I need to know that I'm not thinking of.
Thanks!

Well if your 46g tank isn't setup already and cycled, then you'd have to do that before making the move. Once it's cycled, then an hour move isn't going to hurt it. Simply put half the water in a clean trash can lined with a trash bag and be sure you have SW ready at the other end to put in the tank. Your fish will be fine for 3-4 hours (I moved my 55g from GA to FL, 8 hour ride, and all my fish survived with an airstone in 10g of water), so you can move your tank over and plop your fish back in once it's setup.

Now you would have to do the same for your LR, put them in a container and be sure the water you use is taken from the tank so the rock will be used to it. This is a great article on how someone upgraded their tank and what they did with the LR:

http://www.oregonreef.com/sub_upgrade.htm