what's your salinity at?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

thecamino

Aquarium Advice Newbie
Hi guys i've been running fowlr tanks for about 4 years now and i usually keep my sg between .016 an .018 to reduce parsites. what do you guys keep yours at?

I've only recently gotten into this but I keep my tank around .021 sg.

.024/.025-ish. Why do you think that .016 reduces parasites?

Edit: Is it proven or anecdotal?

Last edited:
I keep mine in the realm of 1.023 - 1.026. What kind of livestock do you have in your tank? That low of a salinity doesn't seem all that good to me. Natural sea water is around 1.026-.027, so having it that low i don't think will bring any good. Also, there are other ways to keep parasites at bay.. assuming you do even have parasites. Keeping the salinity that low is not recommended, especially if that is the normal salinity that your tank is at.

i usually keep my sg between .016 an .018 to reduce parsites.
I keep my salinity at 35 ppt (1.026) which is the average salinity of the reefs throughout the world.
Not sure where you heard dropping your SG to 1.016-1.018 will reduce parasites. That Specific Gravity has no affect on parasites. You need to drop it to ~1.009 SG or ~14 ppt.

i keep mine between 1.023 and 1.025 it depends on the week for some reason either goes up or goes down but it never goes higher than 1.025 or lower than 1.023