Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Fish Only & FOWLR
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 03-03-2010, 11:28 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
NeoCatsy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: GA
Posts: 149
Wierd

I set up a QT tank a (10 gallon). kinda like a PWC. I used the Water from my mother tank. Before all was clam and great

amm 0
SG .1026
ph8.2
nitrite 0
Nitrate .10

When i finished i set the water level back where it was using the same methods I have always used for the past 6 months.

Now the water is

amm 0
nitrite .25
nitrate between 40-80
ph 8.0
sg 1.028
The fish seem fine they are eating and swimming about. Should i get another test. I am confused

sub, LS 40 lbs LR 30 on the way 6 fish , 2 stars, 1 crab , 3 shrimp
__________________

__________________
NeoCatsy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2010, 12:07 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: not here anymore
Posts: 5,338
I'm confused too.

So are you saying that after taking 10g out of your main tank and putting 10g of new saltwater back in, your numbers went from the first set to the second set?

Also... what exactly are "the same methods I have always used"?

If it was just one of your parameters that were weird, I'd think you had a bad test kit. But the salinity, nitrates, and nitrites are all strange. Have you tested the new/fresh saltwater if you have it stored? Sounds like the new water you put in wasn't too good.
__________________

__________________
Kurt_Nelson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2010, 12:18 PM   #3
Sliced Bread
 
neilanh's Avatar


 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 8,482
Did you move any rocks or sand or anything when you set up your QT? The bacteria that processes the waste (and maintains your cycle) doesn't really live in the water column, so just moving water (while it is a good idea to do that too) isn't enough. You need some form of media (live rock, sand, filters, something) that is seeded with the beneficial bacteria to help keep your water parameters in check in the new tank. This is probably why your seeing a mini-cycle.
__________________
~Neilan
In the DC Metro Area? Check out GWAPA and WAMAS
neilanh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2010, 12:48 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
NeoCatsy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: GA
Posts: 149
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kurt_Nelson View Post
I'm confused too.

So are you saying that after taking 10g out of your main tank and putting 10g of new saltwater back in, your numbers went from the first set to the second set?

Also... what exactly are "the same methods I have always used"?

If it was just one of your parameters that were weird, I'd think you had a bad test kit. But the salinity, nitrates, and nitrites are all strange. Have you tested the new/fresh saltwater if you have it stored? Sounds like the new water you put in wasn't too good.

The methods are

I have a suction tube that i used, to siphon off the water in the top of the tank. I use the water out of the faucet that i run through a rodi filter ive been using this water for 6 months with no problem. I try not to store water to much.
__________________
NeoCatsy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2010, 12:50 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
NeoCatsy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: GA
Posts: 149
Quote:
Originally Posted by neilanh View Post
Did you move any rocks or sand or anything when you set up your QT? The bacteria that processes the waste (and maintains your cycle) doesn't really live in the water column, so just moving water (while it is a good idea to do that too) isn't enough. You need some form of media (live rock, sand, filters, something) that is seeded with the beneficial bacteria to help keep your water parameters in check in the new tank. This is probably why your seeing a mini-cycle.
i took 1 rock off the top of the stack that i have. but my main tank is what is bothering me. why would the main tank cycle. the fish seem fine should i worry?
__________________
NeoCatsy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2010, 01:11 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
NeoCatsy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: GA
Posts: 149
I did a water test , the new results:

amm .25
Nitrates between 15-20
Nitrites 0
PH 7.9
Sg 1.029
__________________
NeoCatsy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2010, 01:23 PM   #7
Algae Fighter
 
JustOneMore20's Avatar


 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Birmingham, AL
Posts: 3,872
Send a message via MSN to JustOneMore20
I'm a little confused. Are these test results all from the 10g? Or from the main tank?
__________________
~Kristin~
2 planted tanks: 40g, 20g ; 38g Reef tank
My links to pics: 40g breeder planted build, 40g breeder planted update, My 38g Reef Build

JustOneMore20 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2010, 01:31 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
NeoCatsy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: GA
Posts: 149
Main tank
__________________
NeoCatsy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2010, 02:17 PM   #9
Sliced Bread
 
neilanh's Avatar


 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 8,482
Sorry, I misunderstood the parameters as coming from the QT tank.

I wonder if maybe you need to change out your filters in your RODI unit. maybe some chlorine is getting through, and this can be detrimental to the bacteria.

Why is your sg increasing?
__________________
~Neilan
In the DC Metro Area? Check out GWAPA and WAMAS
neilanh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2010, 02:24 PM   #10
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: not here anymore
Posts: 5,338
Quote:
Originally Posted by NeoCatsy View Post
.... I use the water out of the faucet that i run through a rodi filter ive been using this water for 6 months with no problem. I try not to store water to much.
I'd test your source water for nitrates/nitrites, and then your newly mixed saltwater to rule out contamination from the source. If you have a TDS meter, checking the TDS of your DI output would be good too - your DI resin could be dead. Bad source water could account for the nitrates and nitrites suddenly showing up.

If you're not storing saltwater, then how long are you allowing the freshly made saltwater to sit before adding it to the tank? If it's less than a day, your salinity could be increasing as more of the salt mix dissolves over time. Are you using a swing-arm hydrometer or a refractometer to measure the salinity?
__________________

__________________
Kurt_Nelson is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Too Wierd greenfish Aquaria Off-Topic 12 08-13-2007 10:20 AM
very wierd ryan Freshwater & Brackish - Coldwater, Native Fish & Ponds 3 03-24-2006 05:54 PM
This is just wierd. Joey17 Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 7 01-28-2006 11:18 PM
Something wierd?? Jermz79 Saltwater & Reef - Identification 8 08-17-2005 09:05 AM
wierd pufferman Saltwater Reef Aquaria 0 08-08-2005 12:07 AM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:44 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.