wish list for my 75gal tank

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

stopNsmellFOWLRs

Aquarium Advice Newbie
Hi everyone,

this is my first post here at AA. I am brand new to the saltwater aquaria hobby. I have successfull maintained a 29 gal african chiclid tank for around 5 years now! but when it comes to salt i have ZERO experience. and honestly i dont even have a tank set up or anything yet! I am planning (hoping) to get a 75 gal tank here pretty soon. I am just in the process of learning about all the different equipment and needs for the fish, and also making a wish list as to what i would like to keep!

If i understand correctly when it comes to FOWLR tanks I should probably use a sump and protien skimmer for filtration. am I correct in understanding that volume of the sump should be appoximately 15-20% of the volume of the main display tank? which for a 75 gal tank would be around a 20 gal sump. Sugestions for a decent skimmer are also very welcome! Also what kind of lighting should be used? Not planning on any corals and it seems like there are just so many dang options on lighting and everyone uses a bunch of differnt acronyms for the different types... maybe someone could post a link to a lighting FAQ or something!

Also I live in an appartment, and I'm wondering if maybe i should give up on my dreams of having a saltwater tank because of the huge chance that i will be moving at some point in time (i am happy here, but would like to buy sometime) i didnt have any trouble moving my chiclids, but dont know how salt water fish do with changing places like that!

Ok... so to get to the nitty gritty.. and the fun part!

let me know what you think and if you have had experience with the different combinations.

the One fish that I have my heart set on is a Volitan Lionfish

also really like the following

Snowflake or Zebra Moray