Another Newbie

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

gamma_draconis

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
Hi everyone,

I've been scanning the posts here over the past few days and am truly impressed by the knowledge and helpfulness of all the members here.

I'm a newbie to this site but also a new home aquarist as well. In fact I haven't even begun my first tank yet but I'm planning for it. I've worked as an intern in the aquarist department at the Baltimore Aquarium, however, so I have experience on that scale. I gotta say that trying to translate some of those skills to the home aquarium is proving difficult.

I'm mostly interested in freshwater at this point so I'm going to post something in Getting Started there to ask the questions I have about, well, getting started.

Thanks for letting me join your little community here. I look forward to becoming a full-fledged aquarist.

:D

WELCOME TO AA!!!

Please do not cycle you tank with live animals.

So you are from the MD area? Check out our regional forums. We have been planning trips to LFS. Next month we are heading to the Richmond, Va area, but soon after that we are probably heading to a few in MD.

+++EDIT+++
How rude of me, you are more than welcome to come with us to Richmond....

Hi, thanks for the welcomes!

Please do not cycle you tank with live animals.

I most certainly plan to do a fishless cycle. I know all too much about the nitrogen cycle to do anything else.

So you are from the MD area?

While I used to live in MD (Takoma Park), I'm now a Boston resident. There's a little LFS down the street from my house but I don't entirely trust it (which is probably a healthy attitude towards LFS's). So thanks for the invite but I don't think I can join you. :D Maybe if I'm ever in town visiting...