Another newbie here

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

JJ-Serenity

Aquarium Advice Newbie
I've always been interested in aquariums as we had them when I was a kid and I always wanted a saltwater aquarium. Recently (this past week) I went fishing and didn't want to throw the minnows and goldfish out so I got a 10 gal aquarium and got it set up (granted not the way I should've, come to find out after reading on here. oops). I live an hour away from the closest bait shop for minnows and 30 min from a lake. So I thought I'd store them myself. Any how, it got me interested in aquariums all over again. I need to learn more about freshwater, the cycling (oh..man..cycling. something about fish poop = ammonia -> nitrite -> nitrate...something like that. I'm so lost on cycling. Maybe I should take a chemistry class to understand. lol) and keeping what fish I do have alive. Right now I got 5 fathead minnows and 2 goldfish in a 10 gal. Once I learn some more, I hope to get another tank to try my hand at some freshwater tropical fish and get the 'feel' for aquariums a little better. If I can find the right section to post for more info on cycling I'll do that. I'm so glad I found this forum as I'm sure it will definitely help me getting started on learning and growing to a sw later on. I'm also new to forums in general so I'll see if I can try to navigate to the right areas.

-JJ-

Last edited:
Cycling is pretty easy really, the only trick is patience. Easiest method is to just drop in a small raw shrimp or two, wait a month and check the water. You should have no ammonia or nitrate and a good amount of nitrate. if there's still nitrite, then check it every few days until that gets used up. Once that's done, remove the shrimp (or gooey left overs) change 80-90% of the water, and start adding fish a few at a time.