Beginner

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

daisey

Aquarium Advice Newbie
Hi everyone,
About 4 months ago, my 7 yr. old grandson left a beautiful Betta at my house. That's all it took to get me hooked. Sadly, the Betta passed away a few days ago (dropsy).
Being a beginner, I tried to get as much info on the internet as possible and use some common sense as well. I know a little more now than I did when he got sick. I did isolate him and I tried a few different meds. No luck! (He was in a 10 gallon with 2 corys and 2 otos. They are okay.)
Anyway, I got a 29 gallon Aqueon set and I only let it cycle about 3 weeks. I was told to put fish in to get the ammonia cycle going (I know better now).
My tank has:
1 Dwarf Gourami, 5 Rasboras, 3 Cherry Barbs, 2 Tetras (1 neon, 1 cardinal, 4 died), and 2 spotted Corys.
The problem is, my 29 gallon is going through the nitrite cycle and I started to panic but in the last few days, I did 3 25% water changes, used Prime, Microbe-lift Special Blend and Microbe Lift Nite-Out ll.
My tank is still registering about 3 ppm. No matter what I do, the nitrites stay the same. Is this normal? I am into my 6th week of cycling. How long before the nitrites go down. Is there anything I can do or should I just be patient.
I really appreciate having a forum to connect with because I am stressed about this.