Complete novice..very confused and umm scared!

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Jayney321

Aquarium Advice Newbie
Hello all,as you can see from my title,I'm completely new to this. I've owned a 60L biorb fro around 2years now,but recently upgraded to a aquaone,aquastyle 850,that i think holds 165L,approx 36 gallons. When we purchased the tank it was previously used,and the person using it,said they had been using it for about a yr,but moved house so no room for it.They emptied out all of the water and let it dry out..it was in a bad way. Green algae,dried on...such fun... We got it home,and I cleaned every single part with tap water as best I could. It was sparkling. I had to buy new gravel,which i washed thoroughly before putting in tank. I also replaced the filters,the sponge,but kept the used "noodles" as they didn't seem too bad. I've filled it with tap water,got an air stone which is sat just under the gravel. I've bought a few bits n bobs to go in,and washed again under a tap before placing in. I also added what I think you guys call a dechlorinator,aquaone aqauasafe. I filled it up last Saturday,16th feb.
I've been trawling the net,as you do when u have a new project,and maybe I've read too much..but I very confused..
Do I have to buy a test kit..if so which kind..
Do I have to add something to make my tank "cycle" ?
Shall I put some ornaments or gravel rock from my biorb in the new tank?
It's great to read the things that are posted,and you all seem to know what you're talking about... Please help..I'm panicking!! Lol!