DIVING IN! Fishless cycling, tank upgrade+repair, and gravel-to sand, oh my!

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Lollipops

Aquarium Advice Regular
I'll talk about me, but first, let's talk about Mr. Sunshine.

Mr. Sunshine is a common goldfish.
He lives in a 10 gallon tank...
...but he is about 6 inches long.

He belonged to one of my students (I am a private math tutor), and it all began at the end of one of our sessions when she asked, "Do you want a goldfish…?"

Mr. Sunshine had been in his sad, 10 gallon tank by the dining table where we would have tutoring sessions. He had no plants... He lived with some algae-covered, weathered-away shells (we live by the ocean; probably from there), and some gravel (not enough to cover the bottom of his tank). Next to him was a large (read: old) canister of fish flakes, complete with a clump of once-wet food. There was no bubbler… just a filter.

My student had won Mr. Sunshine at a faire when she was 7… and I'm currently tutoring her in high school math. Her mom didn't want to take care of him anymore…

…so did I want a goldfish?
Well… sure? Why not.

My landlord has a couple fish (goldfish and koi) in tanks on his patio… I may live in a ~120 sq. foot shed on the side of his house, but I have a tiny little patio outside my door… Mr. Sunshine could live in his tank there!

And so, not knowing any better, I half-emptied his tank into a couple of old orange juice jugs, put his tank in my passenger seat, strapped Mr. Sunshine in, and drove him carefully to his new home, sloshing him about in his tank all the way home :)

18553125_1896604827217716_2016257400_o.jpg

That was May 16.

Then began the research….