Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Community Forum > Member Introductions
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Old 11-30-2011, 11:28 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice Apprentice

Epic Fail

Hey ppl im new to Aqua world and im not starting so good i have 1 Red Oscar female 1 Tyger Oscar maale i had 2 Malawi's male and Female a bala shark and Pangas Pangasiu bt the male and female Malawi dont like my fish it killed my Pangas and almost had my tyger Oscar for lunch so i took them out im thinking of getting Green Terrors to add to my Tank will this upset the Oscars

Old 11-30-2011, 03:59 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Newbie

My guess is your going to need a "big" tank.

Old 11-30-2011, 04:06 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Addict

What size tank do you have? What size are each of the fish? How long have you had them? Are these the only tank mates?

Generally, you want to keep South American and African cichlids apart along with keeping South Americans on their own or in a breeding pair. When you combine any aggressive fish, there is a large chance at least some injuries will occur. While they are younger, they tend to be more calm. If you have a quite large tank with a mix of South Americans, then it can work. This is something that a more experience fish-keeper should tackle though.

So, you have a red oscar, two malawis, and a bala shark together? And the tiger oscar is badly injured? You need to remove this fish and treat its wounds.
Old 11-30-2011, 06:20 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict

Welcome! Unfortunately, I don't know a lot about the fish that you have other than oscars are very aggressive and will sometimes kill other fish, including their own kind. I also know that Mbunas are aggressive. Sorry I couldn't help more...
redsea is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2011, 06:24 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice FINatic