Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Community Forum > Member Introductions
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Old 01-31-2012, 12:12 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Freak

finally got time to introduce myself

Hi all,

I'm new to AA but not new to the hobby. I had multiple tanks in my college and post college years and now after 15 years just get back into it.

I started with a 3 gal tank for small Community 3 Tetras, a puffer and then screwed up and got a Albino Tiger Barb which Tore through them all in the course of 2 days then it stressed and Died. I had only kept Cichlids before and had no idea Barbs when not kept in a shoal get nasty.
My Plan was to get this going and use the bacteria to seed the Thirty gallon. I was able to use it though to speed the Cycle on the Thirty. All Level are nice and where they should be, (after 30 days) put the fish in last night. Fish appear healthy, although I did get a Nitrate spike about 6 hours later from almost 0 to 40 in 6 hours.
30% water change brought last night it back down to 10 this morning.
I will check again this evening....

Before anyone states a 30 is too small yet I know that but this is
my 30 gal Starter Oscar Tank. (They are 2inches and 1 1/2 now) and in 6 months after I finishing off my Basement looking at a 125 gal for them.

I have been trolling on here for a Couple of weeks now an finally got around to introduce myself.

Go Giants!

Old 01-31-2012, 12:28 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict

Welcome to AA and GIANTS BABY!!!!

"When creating an aqua scape, strive for the beauty of imperfection, as its art and there is no wrong or right, it's left open for interpretation" James Findley
Convict2161 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2012, 12:51 PM   #3
HN1
Aquarium Advice Addict

Welcome to AA!
Old 01-31-2012, 06:54 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict

Welcome to AA!
redsea is offline   Reply With Quote