First foray into saltwater - 29 gallon Biocube

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

hirsheybolt

Aquarium Advice Newbie
Hello there - I am new to AA and my fiance and I have multiple freshwater tanks in our home. My Christmas gift this year is a 29 gallon Biocube which we have just set up as of last night. The plan is to create a reef tank. We put 40 lbs of live sand and 28 lbs of already cured live rock in. Need to arrange our live rock. Here to learn about salt water aquarium care and try to avoid mistakes if possible. :)

Thanks! I had already found your thread browsing around. I enjoyed your pictures and updates - Your first clown fish is awesome looking. I'm still contemplating which fish I want to start with... thinking max of 6 fish since I also want to do corals. My OH and I have been discussing - so many choices - a clown is on the list of possibilities as well as firefish, a blenny, a goby, possibly pajama cardinals but I understand they prefer to be in groups so that might not be a good choice. A dwarf angel is on the wish list - contemplating flame angel, or coral beauty... Any insight on fish choices is welcome. :fish2:

Looking for advice on stocking options

So the tank (29 gal biocube) cycled nicely, and back on 12.26 we picked up a couple of hermit crabs and some snails. Then yesterday we added two fish from a local LFS - a lovely looking firefish and not exactly what we had planned (had figured on a blenny) - a scooter dragonet (aka scooter blenny, but not a blenny really). I am hoping for successful feeding. So far he definitely is eating some copepods that are in the tank, but not sure he is eating otherwise.