Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Community Forum > Member Introductions
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 03-11-2011, 11:33 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
wilmo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: dumfries, scotland
Posts: 307
First proper set up.

Hey. Just bought an api test kit. And have my first readings.
Ph -7.6
Ammonia - 2ppm
Nitrite - 2ppm

And was wondering if they seem ok.

Cheers
__________________

__________________
Electric Blue Rams, Bolivian Rams, Czech Bred Blue Rams, F1 Blue Rams
Will - dumfries,scotland.
wilmo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2011, 11:39 AM   #2
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
itsgracia's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: California
Posts: 1,209
Hi!

Do you have fish in the aquarium?

If you DO NOT have fish then that is an ok reading. I will even try to get the ammonia up to maybe 3-4 ppm.

If you DO have fish then NO that is not ok. Ammonia and Nitrite level should not go above 0.25ppm if there is fish in there because it can kill them. Immediate PWC (partial water change) of about 50%, check levels again, and if it's stil above 0.25, do another 50%, and so on. Also make sure to use a dechlorinator (I'm not sure if you know this already..don't mean to offend you or anything) like Prime or something similar.
__________________

__________________
"Fish are friends, not food." - Finding Nemo
itsgracia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2011, 11:44 AM   #3
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
wilmo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: dumfries, scotland
Posts: 307
No I don't I made a common rookie error. Didn't know about cycling till today. How will I get my ammonia level up cause I can't get my hands on ammonia.
__________________
Electric Blue Rams, Bolivian Rams, Czech Bred Blue Rams, F1 Blue Rams
Will - dumfries,scotland.
wilmo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2011, 12:16 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
trackfast's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Naperville, IL
Posts: 344
Raw shrimp or some fish food into the tank; either will break down and become your ammonia source.
__________________
trackfast is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2011, 12:25 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
itsgracia's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: California
Posts: 1,209
+1 trackfast

Good job on not putting fish and learning about cycling. Trust me it's a lot faster and less stressful to cycle without fish. Just be careful not to over do the shrimp/fish food because high levels of ammonia or nitrite can stall your cycle. Just try not to go over 5 ppm (3-4 is ideal). Also no water changes is needed unless you go over the 5 ppm. You can also crank up the heat a little, this will speed up building bacteria. Everytime your ammonia goes down below 1 ppm, feed the bacteria something. Once your ammonia and nitrite is down to 0 and consistantly doing so in a couple of days, do a massive water change (50%+) and then you are ready for fish.

Good luck!
__________________
"Fish are friends, not food." - Finding Nemo
itsgracia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2011, 01:27 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
wilmo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: dumfries, scotland
Posts: 307
Will it go to zero on it's own. Eventually that is.
__________________
Electric Blue Rams, Bolivian Rams, Czech Bred Blue Rams, F1 Blue Rams
Will - dumfries,scotland.
wilmo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2011, 02:10 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Slade's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Leland, NC
Posts: 527
Ammonia & Nitrites will go down when the cycle completes, but Nitrates go up, so you need periodic PWC. Once they both go down and you have the Nitrate level under control, either add fish or continue with an ammonia source to keep the BB alive.
__________________

__________________
Slade is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
set up

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Is this adequate lighting and proper set up? Dr. Dai Phan General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 1 05-04-2009 10:55 AM
Proper Order To Set Up a New Tank??? JaredC555 Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 17 03-21-2009 02:34 PM
Proper pH 6.5 ??? lyquidphyre General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 11 06-23-2006 01:37 PM
Proper pH 6.5 NB2SB Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 2 01-31-2005 01:59 PM
What is the proper name for Otos? foxtrot1027 Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 2 01-29-2004 12:06 AM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:39 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.