First time salt user ;)

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

laniloo

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
Hi Everyone,

This is my first time joining an aquatic community - but already I can tell what great advice and support this place has to offer.

I just recently set up my salt water tank (Oceanic Biocube 14 Gallon Nano Aquarium). I've had a freshwater aquarium for years, but have always wanted to move into the realm of saltwater. I won't lie...I was terrified, seemed like such a hard thing to maintain.

My husband had enough of me hmming and haaing and decided to go ahead and buy me a tank for Christmas.

I quickly purchased the gravel (CaribSea Arag-alive and Florida crushed coral), and about 13lbs of live rock (about 4 rocks). I added some snails and hermit crabs and let that cycle for about 2 weeks. Chris (my new best friend at the pet store) told me my tank should go through a "brown algae phase" - this happened quite quickly! A few days later I ran some water tests (PH, Nitrate, Nitrite & Ammonia) and everything seemed to balance out (though my Ph was at 8.4 (a little too high, I think?).

Yesterday I added a small coral (I forgot to write down what it was called, but I'm looking through books right now), and a clownfish. Everyone seems happy and healthy - but I know this is only the beginning.

So thats me. Very new to the saltwater tank and very very scared of killing Nemo (i know i know...but my step daughter insisted I call it that).

Looking forward to discussing various topics with you all!

- Lani