found this forum on a google search

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

fjmcm1947

Aquarium Advice Activist
Hi,

I am new to salt water tanks and I noticed a white cacoon looking thing on my live rock, so I did a search to that effect and found a thread with pics and it sure looks like the same thing a sponge, going on the third wk with my new tank 54 gal corner type tank, been raising fish about 8 years all Cichlids a 75 gal South American and a 55 African.

My youngest daughter has been bugging me some time now to do saltwater so she could have a Nemo and a Dori so we have two true's and a Blue hippo and a Lawnmower blenny, rainbow gramma, striped damsel, yellow tail damsel, and a solid blue damsel, I used the damsels to cycle tank, but by useing filters from my other tanks then buying new ones to replace them and about 40 lbs of live crushed coral stuff and 20 lbs live rock a canister and a 280 this tank cycled fast.

So now that I retired I have time for the saltwater never wanted to mess with it before.

Frank

Welcome to AA! You may want to swap out that crushed coral for aragonite sand as the crushed coral will become a nitrate problem. Also, you can add more live rock, about 30-60lbs. more.

Welcome to AA! You used FW filters and bacteria to cycle a SW tank? Didnt think that would work?

Welcome to AA! :)

I'd suggest starting a thread in the SW section if you want specific feedback on your stocking and critters. Some of your fish may not be ok in that tank on a longterm basis.