Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Community Forum > Member Introductions
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 02-23-2013, 09:29 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Koco35's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 99
Wink Freshwater familiar but Saltwater Rookie! Help!

Hello all,

As a child/teen I had multiple freshwater tanks. The fun I had watching my fish is what inspired me to set up a freshwater ten gallon tank for my young son (6 Years old). It is also want peaked an interest within me to give a saltwater reef tank a try.

I have purchased and set up a 14 gallon biocube and have added the saltwater, live sand, and live rock. I am looking into adding a cleanup crew today so I am on my way and would love to hear any suggestions or concerns for my current set up.

Thanks in advance for your time and your help
__________________

__________________
Koco35 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2013, 09:44 AM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Convict2161's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Planet Earth
Posts: 14,818
Quote:
Originally Posted by Koco35 View Post
Hello all,

As a child/teen I had multiple freshwater tanks. The fun I had watching my fish is what inspired me to set up a freshwater ten gallon tank for my young son (6 Years old). It is also want peaked an interest within me to give a saltwater reef tank a try.

I have purchased and set up a 14 gallon biocube and have added the saltwater, live sand, and live rock. I am looking into adding a cleanup crew today so I am on my way and would love to hear any suggestions or concerns for my current set up.

Thanks in advance for your time and your help

You've just set the tank up? If so you need to cycle it first before adding anything, you'll want to check salinity also...

If you get a CUC which is not needed at this stage of the game right now they will just die, they need food to survive and you tank needs to be ready to house them.
__________________

__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]

"When creating an aqua scape, strive for the beauty of imperfection, as its art and there is no wrong or right, it's left open for interpretation" James Findley
Convict2161 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2013, 09:48 AM   #3
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
apet66's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Nashville
Posts: 1,164
First, welcome to the forum.
Here is a few links that will prove useful. Some people use a piece of raw shrimp to cycle the tank. I wouldn't add any livestock until the cycle is complete.
The (almost) Complete Guide and FAQ to Fishless Cycling
Cycling and Water Quality - Saltwater Tropical Fish and Aquarium Care
Aquarium Chemistry: Nitrate in the Reef Aquarium — Advanced Aquarist | Aquarist Magazine and Blog
__________________
apet66 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2013, 12:32 AM   #4
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Koco35's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 99
Quote:
Originally Posted by Convict2161 View Post
You've just set the tank up? If so you need to cycle it first before adding anything, you'll want to check salinity also...

If you get a CUC which is not needed at this stage of the game right now they will just die, they need food to survive and you tank needs to be ready to house them.
Hi convict

I was able to cycle the tank with just the live rock and live sand I added. I just checked all the important levels with my test kit tonight. The results were as follows...

Ammonia... 0
Nitrites... 0
Nitrates... 0
ph... 8.0 to 8.2

I think i might need to adjust my ph... but i am not sure. Is it high enough?
__________________
Koco35 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2013, 12:36 AM   #5
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Koco35's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 99
I brought a water sample from both tanks in on Saturday. The saltwater tank results came in fine but the ammonia levels in my freshwater tank is still too high even after numerous water changes. I did yet another eater change and put this plastic indicator device that is supposed to indicate when my ammonia levels are too dangerous for the fish.

Since the last water change on Sunday it appears to be in the safe range OR the device isnt working Lol!
__________________
Koco35 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2013, 08:42 AM   #6
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
apet66's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Nashville
Posts: 1,164
Those plastic indicators are not very accurate.
__________________
apet66 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2013, 12:59 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Andrew McFadden's Avatar

POTM Champion
Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: johnstown, ohio
Posts: 7,919
Quote:
Originally Posted by Koco35 View Post

Hi convict

I was able to cycle the tank with just the live rock and live sand I added. I just checked all the important levels with my test kit tonight. The results were as follows...

Ammonia... 0
Nitrites... 0
Nitrates... 0
ph... 8.0 to 8.2

I think i might need to adjust my ph... but i am not sure. Is it high enough?
:Welcome: to AA! We hope you enjoy

You may have added bacteria from the live rock and sand but without an ammonia source the filtration would have no good bacteria. It also means the tank didn't cycle. Your test kit is reading good because there isn't anything in it that makes ammonia. You should check out the links provided above. Hope you understand and we are all here to help. Good luck
__________________
Andrew McFadden is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2013, 01:09 AM   #8
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Koco35's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 99
Unhappy

Quote:
Originally Posted by apet66 View Post
Those plastic indicators are not very accurate.
Well that is depressing

What do you suggest to remove high ammonia levels in a freshwater tank?
__________________
Koco35 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2013, 01:12 AM   #9
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Koco35's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 99
Quote:
Originally Posted by Andrew McFadden View Post
:Welcome: to AA! We hope you enjoy

You may have added bacteria from the live rock and sand but without an ammonia source the filtration would have no good bacteria. It also means the tank didn't cycle. Your test kit is reading good because there isn't anything in it that makes ammonia. You should check out the links provided above. Hope you understand and we are all here to help. Good luck
In my job as a teacher i totally understand what you are saying... and trust me i am glad for the help! I am just a little frustrated because the guy at the local fish store said that the rock and sand were enough to cycle the tank and now i am finding out he was wrong! Just sad really
__________________
Koco35 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2013, 03:40 AM   #10
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Andrew McFadden's Avatar

POTM Champion
Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: johnstown, ohio
Posts: 7,919
Quote:
Originally Posted by Koco35 View Post

Well that is depressing

What do you suggest to remove high ammonia levels in a freshwater tank?
Water changes, even if it has to be back to back 50% changes.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Koco35 View Post

In my job as a teacher i totally understand what you are saying... and trust me i am glad for the help! I am just a little frustrated because the guy at the local fish store said that the rock and sand were enough to cycle the tank and now i am finding out he was wrong! Just sad really
We run in to that a lot here and it is sad.
__________________

__________________
Andrew McFadden is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
freshwater, salt, saltwater

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off








» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:07 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.