Glofish

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Shawn8968

Aquarium Advice Newbie
Hello everyone ! I am new to the aquarium life and I have A LOT of questions ! But first, I have two glofish, a male & a female. For the past three days the male has been constantly chasing and nipping the female. She even hides from him hahaha. But I was wondering if she is ready to lay her eggs because she keeps swimming at the bottom of the tank inspecting the gravel
ImageUploadedByAquarium Advice1406304537.603401.jpg

Sent from my iPhone using Aquarium Advice

Hi Shawn. Welcome. The forums here are a great source of info--just try doing a search on a topic and you will get lots of hits.

How long has your tank been set up?

For about 5 days

I've been researching it and trying to understand. One employee at pet smart told me to set up the aquarium and let it run for 24 hours

I've been researching it and trying to understand. One employee at pet smart told me to set up the aquarium and let it run for 24 hours

Unfortunately, that is not correct. You need to build up your beneficial bacteria in your filter media that breaks down ammonia and nitrites. Both are toxic to your fish, and may be why your one fish is hanging out at the bottom of the tank. Monitoring it with a test kit and doing frequent partial water changes until the tank is cycled will protect your fish. It will take a month or two to completely cycle.

Ok.. I had no idea. I assumed that the people at the pet store would give me useful, correct information.

Ok.. I had no idea. I assumed that the people at the pet store would give me useful, correct information.

I had no idea with my first fish, either. :) Feel free to ask questions.

Thank you ! What are signs of unhealthy glofish ?