Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Community Forum > Member Introductions

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
Old 04-20-2009, 04:44 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
Send a message via AIM to WiltingSoul Send a message via MSN to WiltingSoul Send a message via Yahoo to WiltingSoul
good afternoon everyone

I'm new to the aquarium business though I've had goldfish on & off over the years, though never in ideal conditions. I've decided to do my homework so I can get a good tank set up. I've currently got a regular 10 gallon tank with 2 common goldfish. I know the rule is 10gal per fish when it comes to gf, but at the moment a 10 gallon is the biggest I've got. I'm looking around for something bigger, but since I'm without a job at the moment its hard to find tanks within my price range. I do however, have 2 filters running in each rated at 5-15gal. Please don't lecture me on my tank being too small, that's not why I'm here. I'm here to learn about any future tanks I may set up.There's a possibility I will get a 10gal hex tank from a friend & I'd like to turn it into a tropical tank with kuhli loaches. The tank is 18" tall so I'd like to know what I can stock it with. I'm looking for something that will use all levels of the aquarium, top, middle, bottom (hopefully loaches). How many kuhli loaches can I put in the 10gal hex? From my research I know groups of 4 or more make them more courageous. I just don't want to overstock my tank.I'm sure someone will tell me to put the other gf in the new 10gal hex if I get it, but I don't think I can split the two up, they seem so happy together, constantly swimming side by side. Thank you in advance for your help. I look forward to any advice you can give me.Oh! Before I forget. We've got a pit in our yard where our above ground pool used to be that's filled with what they called "sugar sand" when they installed it. Can that sand