Greetings from Chicago!

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

jaswartz55

Aquarium Advice Newbie
Hello everyone,

I wanted to introduce myself. I am still a relative newbie to the hobby. I have had a Fluval Edge 12 gallon for 11 months with good results (only 2 casualties and neither I believe were related to the tank).

I actually started out when my 6 yo grandson Tim wanted Betta fish, which we bought from Petco, kept in separate tanks, and which were named FLower Rocket and Cupcake Rocket by Tim. Unfortunately, I had no clue what I was doing and just thought changing the water now and then (tap water) would be adequate. No thermometer, no idea about cycling or what it even was, or anything else really. The results were predictable: there were several generations of Flower Rocket and Cupcake Rocket (unbeknownst to Tim) who believed they were the originals. Eventually I realized this was cruel and wanted to set up a better tank. This led to the Fluval Edge (which seemed like quite the step up) last December.

I have had much better luck with the Fluval, learned about cycling, do gravel sweeping and partial water changes. The tank is at its bioload limit: 3 cory cats, 4 mollies, 3 glo-tetras, and yes, 1 betta who is nameless (Tim won it at the recent aquatics expo in Schaumburg IL and with much trepidation, I put it in with the others and closely monitored for any aggression. All went well. I leave the tank slightly below full to allow the Betta access to surface air).