Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Community Forum > Member Introductions
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Old 11-10-2012, 01:46 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Apprentice

Greetings from Philelphia/New York

Hey guys looking forward to learning a lot and hopefully being able to share what I know
I'm a college student from New York who currently attends school in Philly. I became interested in fish about 3.5 years ago when I bought a betta, Chip. I kept him in a 1 gallon tank no heater no filter but the more I learned about fish the more I wanted to upgrade. He eventually ended up in a 10 gallon, along with a pleco and a cory, with a heater and a filter.

About 4 months ago I became interested in setting up a goldfish tank. I consequently moved Chip to a 2 gallon and set the 10 gallon up as a goldfish tank. I first bought one fan tail and an Oranda. After much trouble with Ich my fantail passed away and I ended up returning the Oranda and the Pleco because I felt that maybe the store could do more for them. By this point I was a bit discouraged but pushed on. I got a hold of a 20 gallon tank from one of my professors got the other necessary materials and set it up. I first bought one Pearscale, Chubby and a Ryukin, Nena. This time i had done my fair share of research so I was ready to treat them if anything came up. Both of them got Ich which was later cured through a salt treatment. Chubby also got fin rot which i managed to get rid through a lifeguard treatment. After everyone was better I started noticing that Corie, my Cory catfish, looked lonely so I bought him a friend Julie, a Julii Cory. He has looked more lively ever since.