Hello!

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

JenB

Aquarium Advice Newbie
I'm relatively new to fishkeeping, however, I have found that having fish is much like having chickens, you can't have just one. I now have 3 tanks! I have a 10-gallon tank that houses a betta (Einstein) and a tiger blood nerita snail. I also just separated my community tank (which is on an aquaponic system) into two tanks (I was keeping shrimp in there and wanted to be able to enjoy them) - a fish tank and a shrimp tank (which I will add fish to at some point if the shrimp start reproducing). My community fish tank (on the aquaponic system) has a flame dwarf gourami (Galileo), 5 X-ray pristella tetras and 2 harlequin rasboras (I lost a bunch during acclimation). The shrimp tank is heavily planted and has 3 mandarin shrimp and a zebra nerita snail and olive nerita snail. Everyone seems healthy for now. My biggest challenge so far is that my well water is very hard and has a high pH. I was getting different readings from strips, regular pH and high pH solutions. Finally went and bought a pH meter and found that the strips were the most accurate... I'm currently lowering the pH on all of my tanks using peat. Let's hope that works... Looking forward to getting great information from this community!

If they seem healthy you might not need to change anything you're doing. Messing with hardness and ph can be tricky even for experienced hobbyists. Might be better just to keep them at these parameters for now they're probably used to it already changing too much would stress them.

Sent from my iPhone using Aquarium Advice

Thanks!