Hello AA

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Ice Man

Aquarium Advice Freak
Hi. I am new to AA.
Just got 25g to upgrade from my 10g, freshwater of course. Will need some advice what fish to buy? In my 10g I got 1 zebra danio, 1 tiger barb, 1 painted glass barb, 1 glow fish, 1 angel fish and my all time favorite algae eater. I used to have at least 2 of each but they died. When I got my first tank 2 years ago I had no idea what I'm doing. Now after reading some literature, well I know just a bit.

Glad you found us here. Nice to see you are interested in the hobby.
Sorry to tell you, but that is not good stocking for a 10 gallon. Danios, glofish, and barbs are schooling fish and need to be in groups of 6 at least. If you do not keep them in proper schools, they get stressed and die early. Tiger barbs are notorious fin nippers and should not be kept with an angel. Angels get big and should not be kept in 10g or you will stunt his growth, if it hasn't been stunted already. What kind of algae eater? Almost none are fit for a 10 either.
Its good that you upgraded! Which of your fish are you going to add to the new tank? Honestly, you should add them all. Re-home the tiger barb though. They are nippy. Also, you need to figure out what your algae eater is. Chinese algae eater? Pleco?

Hi there.
Now I know that they are schooling fish. When I started my tank 2 years ago "expert" from my local fish store advised me to get three zebra danios to start with. Then, after consultation with with the same sales guy, I got two tiger barbs. I was never told they need to be in a group of at least 5. I should have paid more attention to it but at a time this tank was for my 4 year old son. In meantime I just fell in love with his fish and they became mine :) Other fish (glow fish, angel), and were all just a random purchase.