Hello all! Any suggestions for me?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

LaLibra

Aquarium Advice Newbie
Hello fellow fish lovers!

I just started a brand new 30 gallon tank about two months ago (meaning that I am a total newbie to this fantastic fishy world) and, after having spent a ton of time online looking for answers to my questions, have decided to register here so that I can ask all of you for more case specific answers.

Usually I ask my local fish store.... But lately I have been finding that I have been receiving increasingly bad advice :(

So, I can't wait to get started asking the millions of questions I've got zipping around in my head and hearing what advice all of you have to recommend!

Right.... So here goes: I have a heavily (artificially) planted and decorated 30 gallon tank which is currently occupied by 3 ADF ( 1 male, 2 female), 2 Corydoras, 1 Pleco, 6 male guppies, 2 German rams (1 male, 1 female), 1 blue Gourami, and 1 Dwarf gourami (both males). I am sad to report that up until yesterday, I had a beautiful male golden gourami.... But he decided that he wanted to be king of the tank and started to attack everything in sight... So I gave him to a friend who has multiple fish tanks full of fish that will be less likely to tolerate his terrorism.

So now that he's gone, I can't help but feel that even though I have a decent stock of beautiful fish, my tank is lacking something swimming around the middle range...

Any suggestions for a colourful, gentle tank mate for my lovelies?

What about a Pearl Gourami. There are some which are cranky but I have a sweet peaceful one which is a wonderful fish for the tank. The male is very attractive.

60074-albums9317-picture65753.jpg

Thank you!

Thanks for the advice!