Hello :-) already posted this in the wrong place

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Loafingstone

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
I'm new to fish keeping and set up my tank a few weeks ago. I've followed all the shop recommendations and they have been very helpful. I have 3 mollies and some live plants. Everything was fine until I found a snail, and then another and them another. The plant must have been infested with the things. I am picking them out one by one having taken the plants out and put it ins bucket of water. Any rescue plans for my tank and plants greatly appreciated! Ps should I be very cross with the shop or is this a genuine error?

I'm new to fish keeping and set up my tank a few weeks ago. I've followed all the shop recommendations and they have been very helpful. I have 3 mollies and some live plants. Everything was fine until I found a snail, and then another and them another. The plant must have been infested with the things. I am picking them out one by one having taken the plants out and put it ins bucket of water. Any rescue plans for my tank and plants greatly appreciated! Ps should I be very cross with the shop or is this a genuine error?
It's a common problem with pet shops to have snail-infested plants. It's very hit-or-miss unless you get your plants from a reliable place. What size tank is it? What type of snail is it? Pictures?

Hope I helped!

How big is your tank?

Snails can be a godsend, or a huge menace. A picture is worth a thousand words!

There are some fish (Clown Loaches come to mind) that love to eat snails, However, they need warmer water and lots of room, and are best kept in groups of 3 or more. I wouldn't recommend it in less than a 40 gallon at the minimum.