hello everybody!

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

SignalSoldier

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
My name Jaime and I'm new to this hobby. I've always had a fascination with small ecosystems and self sustaining environments though which is the reason I'm now getting into this!

After doing lots of research I decided to buy a 10gal since I don't have a whole lot of room right now, something that'll fit on my desk.

I've been living in Alaska for the past 3.5 years serving in the army and now I'm finally getting out and going back home in about two weeks to California. I'll be on here quite a bit once I've settled back in and start up my aquarium.

Cheers!

:flowers: Welcome to the Forum! May your fish be healthy and your tanks be free of algae and snails!

Self sustaining ecosystems are pretty cool: have you looked into dirted Walstad tanks? Plants balance out the waste created by the fish, growing in soil. it's an interesting concept.

Welcome! Glad you are here. I'm looking forward to seeing what you decide to do with your aquarium.

I don't know when I'm going to be able to do it but I just bought the Walstad book. (kindle edition).

Ecology of the Planted Aquarium: A Practical Manual and Scientific Treatise 3, Diana Louise Walstad - Amazon.com

For now I have a more traditional planted tank. All my fish and plants are from South America. Working with that limitation I imposed on myself keeps it more interesting for me. I only have one, but I both enjoy it and take it seriously.

There are so many great fish and inverts to choose from. Whatever you do, have fun with it.

Last edited:
Sup dude. New too. Have a 46 in my garage. Don't wanna kill any fish, and the lighting system system isn't finished. Keepin low key with two guppies and a filter. What are your plans for the 10?

Sent from my iPhone using Aquarium Advice