Hello, everyone! New aquarist here.

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

captaincritical

Aquarium Advice Freak
Hello all!

My name is Laurie and I'm pretty new to the hobby. I caught the aquarium bug after stumbling across some YouTube videos of Red Cherry Shrimp and fell in love, haha.

I had a tank or two when I was very young, and after researching all I can about the nitrogen cycle these past couple weeks, I feel horribly guilty for all of the fish that my mother and I brought home to an uncycled tank when I was a girl. I suppose you could say I'm hoping to make amends this time!

Perhaps this is too personal, but I'm nothing if not honest... I suffer from mental health problems, and as a result I'm currently on medical leave from work. I struggle with both anxiety and depression, and I find watching fish to be very soothing and distracting when my thoughts are running away with me. Just spending this last week watching videos and doing research has done a ton to brighten my mood. I can see this hobby being very beneficial to me.

I'm very much looking forward to planning and building my first successful aquarium. I go to pick up my new empty tank on Monday, and tomorrow I'm going to scope out my LFS for the first time. So excited!

Welcome Laurie! You've come to the right place! This hobby should provide you with some very uplifting little friends if you're feeling a little down. I know it helps me:) any questions, start a thread! There are tons of extremely knowledgable, friendly aquarists on here that love helping out new comers! So aside from RCS what kind of fish are you thinking?

Thanks for the welcome, Brookster!

I've made a list of some fish that I'm interested in and that I think I can handle as a beginner. I've been using AqAdvisor to try and figure out some suitable combinations. Some of the fish I like are: